LibGuides UFV: FNST 201, Stó:lō Communications and Worldview: Archival Collections

Regional Archives & Museums

Royal BC Museum
Search the "human history" collections including indigenous collections. Tip: search the "cultural group" field for Stalo, OR, the "community" field for a geographic entity such as Chilliwack.
BC Archives
Use this database to find descriptions and select digitized versions of archival records held at the BC Archives. You can use “quotes” for an exact phrase, the asterisk* as a wild card, and the advanced search function to narrow your results.

JSTOR

JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
ARTStor has been replaced by this on the JSTOR platform. You can still access all the same images.
For full access you may need to login to JSTOR and search for images there.
To download images, you must create personal JSTOR login. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to JSTOR is stored on servers located in the United States of America. When you use this service, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to JSTOR. Downloading by institution is not available.

Permitted Uses for this Database

Sound Recordings

Ida Halpern Collection at the RBCM
The Ida Halpern fonds (PR-0847) is a remarkable collection of audiovisual, textual and photographic records documenting the songs, ceremonies and culture of the northwest coast of Canada.
Dr.Frances Densmore sound recordings of American indigenous people's songs.
Over the course of 50 years, Dr. Densmore collected more than 2000 recordings of American Indian customs and traditions in song.

Library and Archives Canada (LAC)

Indian Affairs Record Group 10 (RG10) Inventory
The records found in RG 10 contain the historical records relating to Indian Affairs created by the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and its predecessors. They include files, correspondence, letters, and transcripts on all aspects of Indian administration for both headquarters and the field offices. Click on Advanced search to be able to enter all your relevant search terms

Search "RG10" and then a location name to start your search.

Screenshot of limiters.

You can limit your search using the filters on the left side of the screen.

You can access digitized content by clicking on YES under the Available Online filter.

E.g.

Fraser River Agency - George Johnny's Application for Membership in the Sumas Band After a Fifteen Year Residence in ihe United States

You can also filter by date by selecting the decade listed.

Theses Canada Portal

Theses Canada This link opens in a new window
Tips on searching: you will need to search for Sto:lo and not Stalo or Stolo, as the search engine will not retrieve all theses on this topic otherwise.

Local Museums & Archives

Chilliwack Museum and Archives:
Archival holdings include subject and biography files, local history books, photographs and other media, family histories, city records, oral histories, artwork, and maps. Keyword searchable digital files of the Chilliwack Progress are available from 1891-1892, 1894- April 1983, microfilm from 1891-1981, and print copies from 1980-present; print holdings of the Chilliwack Times are available from 1986 - present. The collection is searchable through an online database , as well as through scanned Finding Aids.
more...less...
See the numerous local history articles in the sections Settlement History and Agricultural History under the Research & More dropdown menu.
salishan Place by the River
Archival holdings include correspondences, minute books, maps, oral history recordings, and photographs. Complete microfilm copies of the Langley Advance are available for use. There is also a resource library, including clippings files.
Trethewey House Heritage Site
Formerly the MSA Museum, the Trethewey House Heritage Site is operated by the Heritage Abbotsford Society. Activities include the preservation, study, and exhibition of of artifacts and archival material for the public.
Mennonite Historical Society of British Columbia
A collection of archival materials which illustrate the activities of Mennonite people in British Columbia, including their arrival and early settlement, the growth of communities and the development of institutions and businesses during the 20th century. Holdings include family histories, genealogical resources, yearbooks, periodicals, and church and school files.
Mission Community Archives
Archival holdings include family histories, school district records, some municipal records, 100,000+ photographs, and local newspapers: Mission City News (1893) and the Fraser Valley Record (1908-present).
more...less...
Note: The Fraser Valley Record was renamed the Mission City Record in 1996.
Mission Museum
Website provides a brief history of the city and descriptions of permanent and temporary exhibits.
The Reach Gallery Museum (Abbotsford)
Archival holdings related to the history of Abbotsford, including maps, microform copies of the ASM/Abbotsford News December (1922 to present), and print copies of the Abbotsford Post (1910 – 1924). A Photo Archives database of local historical images is searchable by place, year, topic, and subject.
Stó:lō Library and Archives
Located in Chilliwack, houses a collection that focuses on information about the Coast Salish, particularly the Stó:lō. The library catalog is now online.