LibGuides UFV: FNST 201, Stó:lō Communications and Worldview: Journal Articles

Search UFV databases at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Watch this short video on how to use FIND IT.

Research Databases: Best Bets

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOHost)
Spanning the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, and contains selective indexing for a substantial number of journals.
Coverage: 1954 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest)
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
eHRAF World Cultures
Information on all aspects of cultural and social life and ethnic groups of the world.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal)
The I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) has full text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on Indigenous peoples of Canada. Includes geographic locations of various communities and links to research content of that specific community.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Research Databases: Also Try...

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
Anthropological Index Online
Provides bibliographic citations for the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum, which includes international coverage in all branches of anthropology.
Permitted Uses for this Database
BC Stats
BC Stats is the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia with a BC focus on demographics and socio-economic conditions.
Permitted Uses for this Database
British Colonist, 1858-1980
All the issues of the British Colonist (also called The Daily British Colonist, the Daily Colonist, and other variants) from 1858 to 1980; every page is searchable.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Empire Online
Primary source documents covering Colonial history, politics, culture and society, arranged into 5 themes: cultural contact, 1492-1969; literature and empire (poetry, prose, drama); the visible empire (photographs, illustrations); religion and empire; and race, class, imperialism and colonialism, c1607-2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Haida Gwaii Emuseum: Image Collections
Image collection of Haida Gwaii communities, totems, boats, chieftainships and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOHost)
The history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Indigenous Peoples of North America
Find the collection by clicking on Resources (top right corner). Varied collection of government documents, images, primary sources and more about Indigenous People in North America. From the seventeenth through the twenty-first century.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Native Health Database
Bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents relating to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
Permitted Uses for this Database
The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples. Some citations include a link to view the PDF file. If no PDF file is available, users may add up to 5 items to their "cart." After a free registration process, you may request copies of these items.
Points to the Past
Nearly 200 million pages of searchable primary source materials, including maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems. It is freely available to residents living in British Columbia. Contains 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Project Muse
Articles in the Humanities and Social Sciences. You do not have to create a personal account. Sign in by Institution: University of the Fraser Valley to the right of the landing page.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sage Journals Online
Full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE; coverage includes criminology, health sciences, business, history, sociology, and psychology. U.S. focus.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Coverage of trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition topics; content includes original manuscripts, other rare printed materials and contextual essays. The focus is on the African Coast, the Middle Passage, slavery and agriculture, the abolition movement, the Underground Railway and slavery today.
Coverage: 1490 to 2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCOHost)
Abstracts,indexing and full text articles from key publications in the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1984 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Statistics Canada
Statistics relating to Canada's population, resources, economy, society and culture.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Statistics Canada Publications Catalogue
Statistics Canada Publications Catalogue provides searchable access to statistical publications on topics such as business, manufacturing, farming, health, food consumption, education, crime & justice, and much more.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Types of Journals

Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:

Scholarly Journals: reports of original research, theoretical, experimental or applied; many are refereed/peer-reviewed
Trade/Professional Journals: current trends, news & events in a particular field; some are peer-reviewed
Journals of Commentary or Opinion: commentary on political & social issues; often source of specific political viewpoint, e.g., conservative, liberal, or specific interest group
Newspapers: current information, news stories; local & regional focus
Popular Magazines: current events & news; primary source for popular culture

Types of Periodicals

UFV Journals

UFV has access to more than 60,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles online, and about 500 current titles in print.

UFV Journals List
List of all print and electronic journals available at UFV; search for a specific journal title or browse by subject.

Journals beyond UFV

You can request articles from journals not held by UFV through interlibrary loan. Request forms can be accessed from the library's web site, or through the Full Text Finder link in the library's research databases. Articles generally arrive within 2-5 business days; books may take a little longer.

Watch this short video on using Full Text Finder to locate articles.

Interlibrary Loans
More information on requesting materials from other libraries.
Full Text Finder

Selected articles.

Reclaiming Indigenous Voice and Vision
Call Number: GN380 .R42 2000 & Ebook
Leroy Little Bear article – “Jagged Worldviews Colliding” chapter 5.

Coast Salish Transformation Stories: Kinship, Place and Aboriginal Rights and Title in Canada Brian Thom, PhD Student, Department of Anthropology, McGill University
Transformation stories are an important way that Coast Salish people make sense of their place in the world. George StsE ´lis, a Stó:lô chief, shared a rich set of these stories and his own genealogy with Franz Boas over a few days in 1889 and 1990. Through a detailed examination of the names of people and places in these stories in the context of Coast Salish kinship and spirit power, the importance of the relationship between humans and non-human ancestors (like animals, rocks and trees), and between humans and places is emphasized. The interpretations of these stories are corroborated by statements made by contemporary Coast Salish story tellers. Beyond the level of analysis of oral tradition, I suggest that these stories have significance for interpreting Aboriginal rights and title issues in Canada today.
Kirkness, V. J. (1998). The critical state of aboriginal languages in canada. Canadian Journal of Native Education, 22(1), 93-107. Retrieved from https://www.proquest.com/docview/230325665?accountid=10969

Research As Resistance: Critical, Indigenous, and Anti-Oppressive Approaches
Call Number: H 62 R4473 2015
Chapter 9: HONOURING THE ORAL TRADITIONS OF MY ANCESTORS THROUGH STORYTELLING Qwul’sih’yah’maht Robina Anne Thomas