LibGuides UFV: GEOG 140, Human Geography (Rachel Chapman): Using Find It

What is Find It?

Find It, formerly know as the EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS), provides a single, unified search box for searching the UFV Library's information resources, including scholarly journal articles, books, e-books, internet documents, research reports, and much more. Features of the service include:

Single, simple entry point for searching many databases at once, including the UFV Library catalogue
Pre-indexing of a vast quantity of metadata ensures immediate search results
Detailed metadata (e.g., author-supplied abstracts,keywords, subjects)
Indexing for thousands of journals from publishers such as Sage, Elsevier, Wiley, Taylor & Francis, and Cambridge
Complete library catalogue loaded directly into EDS, with availability checks and daily updates
Ability to limit searches by date, source type, subject, content provider, full text availability, scholarly designation and more
Powerful, user-friendly interface based on the familiar EBSCOhost platform

Find It is a great place to start your research. It helps you quickly find relevant resources on a subject, without having to decide which database(s) to search. The facets allow you to limit your search results in a variety of ways, including date range, source type, subject, and scholarly designation. The library's catalogued resources are also integrated into the search results.

To find Canadian newspaper articles, use Canadian Newsstand and CPI-Q. These are not directly indexed in Find It.

To take advantage of the richest features of a database, including the subject thesaurus or specialized limiters, you may choose to search a specific subject relevant database. For example, Business Source Complete, PsycINFO, and Medline have powerful features only available in their unique interfaces.

Search Options

There is more than one way to search for useful material in the UFV Library's resources. Some people prefer to use the Find It search box on the library's homepage. It searches the library catalogue and many (but not all) of our databases at one time. (See information on this page about Find It.) However, some people prefer to go to to specific sources, for example the library catalogue (for books and videos) or to specific databases. (See the next tabs if you prefer that method!)

Search UFV's databases and library catalogue all at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

For more Library How To Videos

When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:

All filters options to limit seach results.

Available in Library Collection..............	you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library
Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals .....	if you need journal articles only
Print Books Only ..................................	limits mainly to our physical book, collection
Subject ...................................................	a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search
Geography...............................................	want to limit to Canada? use this
Content Provider ................................	gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database)

Remember to use this toolbar to easily:

Email yourself the article by clicking on Share

Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)

Use Share to Create a link to the article, whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates.

EDS tools with three dots, cite and share highlighed.

By default, Find It searches all terms you have entered, without the need to use AND. For example: children television violence will find items that contain all 3 terms.
By default, Find It searches through the full text of documents (if available). This may cause a large number of results, and not all are relevant to your subject. Results are returned in a relevancy ranked order. You can change the ranking to date if you wish.
To improve the relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in "quotation marks". For example: "British Columbia" or "global warming".
Include the apostrophe. For example, use "handmaid's tale" rather than "handmaids tale"
To find variant endings for a word, use the * asterisk (truncation symbol.) For example: delinquen* finds delinquent, delinquents, delinquency
To find books, e-books. videos or other items in the UFV library, refine your search by selecting "All Books". You can also limit to "Print books Only" if you want something to hold!
To find scholarly journal articles, refine your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)"
You can refine a search by limiting to Language. However, be aware that many English language articles have not been tagged as English, so will be missing from your search results.
Many items have direct links to retrieve the full text. For those that don't, use "Full Text Finder" to determine if UFV has the item in print or online.
To limit to Canadian content, use the Geography filter.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) - User Guide

Custom made UFV tutorials:

For more Library How To Videos

Tutorials from the service provider:

For More EDS tutorials