LibGuides UFV: Heritage Collection: Maps

Why Use Maps?

Source: VPL Special Collections, Historical Photographs #42430

See the State Library of Victoria (Australia) page for an excellent summary of the advantage and importance of using maps for research.

Maps for local history
From the State Library of Victoria (AU)

Reference Atlases

A Stó:lo-Coast Salish historical atlas
Call Number: G 1171 E1 S86 2001
Historical atlas of British Columbia and the Pacific Northwest : maps of exploration : British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Yukon
Call Number: G 1465 S12 H39 1999
Historical atlas of Canada : Canada's history illustrated with original maps
Call Number: G 1116 S1 H39 2002
Addressing the twentieth century, 1891-1961
Call Number: E-Book

Search for Heritage Collection Maps

Other Map Sources

Currently, there are a limited number of maps in the Heritage Collection, but there are other resources available for finding historical maps of the Fraser Valley listed below. Local archives and museums can often provide access to historical maps. See the tab Local Archives for a list of archives and museums in the Fraser Valley region.

Maps: British Columbia Archives
Records for over 63,000 maps, atlases, and architectural drawings relating to the exploration, discovery, and development of the province of British Columbia. Scroll down for links to selected digitised maps.
UBC Rare Books and Special Collections
The main focus of the historical map collection is British Columbia, with geographical coverage including maps and charts of pre-1900 British Columbia. See the Map Collections information page for search and access instructions.
Canada at Scale
Provides online access to a selection of maps from a 2001 National Archives of Canada exhibition. Many maps are of British Columbia.
Historical Atlas of Canada Online
A work in progress, this project uses maps, text, and other graphics to explore themes in the history of Canada. It is based on the published, three volume work of the same title.
Fire Insurance maps (Library and Archives Canada)
Access maps online for a number of communities in British Columbia, including Vancouver, Hope and Mission.

Need help? Ask us!

Library Hours

refabby (at) ufv (dot) ca

Meet with a Librarian

Library Locations
Library Maps: Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Mission

Assignment Planner
Citing Sources
WriteAway