LibGuides UFV: HIST 205, British Columbia pre-contact to the present.: Books &amp; Videos

Library Catalogue (Books, Videos and E-Resources)

Examples of subjects in the library catalogue:

Example subject headings:

British Columbia -- Colonization	British Columbia -- Ethnic relations
British Columbia -- Race relations	Chinese -- British Columbia -- History
Japanese -- British Columbia -- History	Indigenous peoples - British Columbia - History
Sikhs -- British Columbia -- History	Indigenous peoples -- Land tenure -- British Columbia
Immigrants -- British Columbia -- History	Multiculturalism -- British Columbia
British Columbia -- Social conditions -- 1918-1945	Environmental history - British Columbia
Women -- British Columbia -- History	Lee Maracle

To find and request books from other libraries, try the following:

Illume
Search libraries in B.C. Click on Request this Item button to request the item; delivery time is 5-10 business days
WorldCat
Search libraries beyond B.C. To request an item, use our interlibrary loan forms; delivery time is 1-2 weeks
Interlibrary Loans
More information on requesting materials from other libraries.

CAN-CORE Academic Video Collection This link opens in a new window
100% Canadian produced videos on a variety of topics covering Indigenous issues, Health, Mental Health and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Curio.ca This link opens in a new window
Streaming video and audio content from CBC and Radio Canada. Documentaries, news, drama, teacher's guides and more are included. Use Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Instructors wishing to create playlists should contact the library for the access code required to set up a personal account.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Docuseek Canadian Collection This link opens in a new window
A curated collection of streaming videos with a focus on social-issue and environmental films.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection with a mix of movie, documentary and educational titles. Starting in January 2020, Kanopy streaming videos will be available to view from Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, Psychotherapy.net and the Documentaries subject package. All title requests outside these collections will be mediated by UFV Library staff. Mediated requests will only be accepted from UFV faculty for course purposes.
Permitted Uses for this Database
National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to hundreds of English and French language animated films and documentaries online in streaming video.
Permitted Uses for this Database