LibGuides UFV: HIST 205, British Columbia pre-contact to the present.: Journals

Search UFV databases at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Research Databases: Best Bets

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Spanning the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, and contains selective indexing for a substantial number of journals.
Coverage: 1954 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Articles in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Other Useful Databases

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Cambridge University Press journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. International focus.
Coverage: 1998 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents covering Colonial history, politics, culture and society, arranged into 5 themes: cultural contact, 1492-1969; literature and empire (poetry, prose, drama); the visible empire (photographs, illustrations); religion and empire; and race, class, imperialism and colonialism, c1607-2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
Primary documents revealing the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples and the anglophone colonization of North America, Africa and Australasia. From 1650-1920
Permitted Uses for this Database
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Find the collection by clicking on Resources (top right corner). Varied collection of government documents, images, primary sources and more about Indigenous People in North America. From the seventeenth through the twenty-first century.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Komagata Maru: Continuing the Journey This link opens in a new window
Access to government documents, newspaper articles and a variety of other texts to tell the story of the Komagata Maru.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Videos: This interview is made available under a Creative Commons license. You can download the interview and share it with others provided you acknowledge the source as the SFU Library. You cannot change or alter the interview in any way, or use it for commercial purposes.

Audio: Permission to use material from this item for purposes other than those granted in the Canadian Copyright Act must be obtained in writing from the copyright holder. Preauthorized permission is granted to educational institutions, teachers, and students to reproduce, perform, publish, exhibit, crop, reverse, translate, archive the material for noncommercial purposes. Multicultural Canada Rights and Permissions.

Images: The images have individual rights messages for each one. To use an image, you must consult the rights link on the image webpage.
South Asian Migration: 1906-1915 The Province (Vancouver, BC) articles This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspaper articles and their transcription related to South Asian Migration, 1906-1915, in The Province.
Permitted Uses for this Database

UFV Journals

UFV has access to more than 60,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles online, and about 500 current titles in print.

History Journals
UFV Journals List
List of all print and electronic journals available at UFV; search for a specific journal title or browse by subject.

Journals beyond UFV

You can request articles from journals not held by UFV through interlibrary loan. Request forms can be accessed from the library's web site, or through the Full Text Finder link in the library's research databases. Articles generally arrive within 2-5 business days; books may take a little longer.

Interlibrary Loans
More information on requesting materials from other libraries.
Full Text Finder

HIST 205, British Columbia pre-contact to the present.

Using Full Text Finder

Types of Journals

Need help? Ask us!

Search UFV databases at once

Research Databases: Best Bets

Other Useful Databases

UFV Journals

Journals beyond UFV