LibGuides UFV: IPK 277, Indigenous Art: Stories and Protocols: Images

In the Library

The library's collection of art books and art journals include high quality reproductions of art works.

Tip: In the Art Full Text database, go to Advanced Search and look for the Document Type limiter box. Select Art Reproduction to find articles with art images related to your topic/keywords.

Online Resources

JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
ARTStor has been replaced by this on the JSTOR platform. You can still access all the same images.
For full access you may need to login to JSTOR and search for images there.
To download images, you must create personal JSTOR login. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to JSTOR is stored on servers located in the United States of America. When you use this service, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to JSTOR. Downloading by institution is not available.

Permitted Uses for this Database
Art Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Art-related subjects, including art history, architecture, graphic arts, industrial design, motion pictures, photography, and sculpture.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Google Arts and Culture
Artworks of over 2000 cultural institutions are available in high resolution, with ability to zoom into fine details. Artworks also organized by collections, themes, artists, medium, art movement and more. Google Street View provides virtual tours of major world galleries.
Google Images
Look for Images that have been cleared for reproduction.
- Do a search
- Click on Search Tools
- Click on Usage Rights
- Select labelled for reuse

Selected Galleries

Art Institute of Chicago releases thousands of images
"Students, educators, and just regular art lovers might be interested to learn that we’ve released thousands of images in the public domain on the new website in an open-access format (52,438 to be exact, and growing regularly). Made available under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license, these images can be downloaded for free on the artwork pages.
Metropolitan Museum of Art - The Collection Online
An online, searchable database of almost 400,000 high resolution images from the Met's extensive art collection. The works are accompanied by valuable information on the artist and the artwork, including bibliographies of related articles.
National Gallery of Canada
Find images from the National Gallery of Canada's collection.
Museum of Anthropology (UBC) Collection Online
Explore MOA’s nearly 50,000 objects now on the Collections Online (MOA-CAT) system.
Royal BC Museum Indigenous Collections
Ceremonial and utilitarian objects, tools and regalia for traditional use and the tourist market, typical examples and exceptional masterworks, objects that were old when they were collected and new works of art in a variety of media—all are in our exceptional ethnology collection of over 14,000 objects.
National Museum of the American Indian (Smithsonian) Collections
Search the collections by article type or culural area such as the North West Coast.