LibGuides UFV: IPK 386, Indigenous Worldviews of North America: Journal Articles

Search UFV databases at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Watch this short video on how to use FIND IT.

Information About Off Campus Access

Types of Journals

Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:

Scholarly Journals: reports of original research, theoretical, experimental or applied; many are refereed/peer-reviewed
Trade/Professional Journals: current trends, news & events in a particular field; some are peer-reviewed
Journals of Commentary or Opinion: commentary on political & social issues; often source of specific political viewpoint, e.g., conservative, liberal, or specific interest group
Newspapers: current information, news stories; local & regional focus
Popular Magazines: current events & news; primary source for popular culture

Types of Periodicals

UFV Journals

UFV has access to more than 60,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles online, and about 500 current titles in print.

UFV Journals List
List of all print and electronic journals available at UFV; search for a specific journal title or browse by subject.

Journals beyond UFV

You can request articles from journals not held by UFV through interlibrary loan. Request forms can be accessed from the library's web site, or through the Full Text Finder link in the library's research databases. Articles generally arrive within 2-5 business days; books may take a little longer.

Watch this short video on using Full Text Finder to locate articles.

Interlibrary Loans
More information on requesting materials from other libraries.
Full Text Finder

Research Databases: Best Bets

Philosopher's Index (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy from more than 50 countries, dating back to 1940.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Articles in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Research Databases: Also Try

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Spanning the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, and contains selective indexing for a substantial number of journals.
Coverage: 1954 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Information on all aspects of cultural and social life and ethnic groups of the world.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) This link opens in a new window
The I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) has full text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on Indigenous peoples of Canada. Includes geographic locations of various communities and links to research content of that specific community.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Need help? Ask us!

Library Hours

refabby (at) ufv (dot) ca

Meet with a Librarian

Library Locations
Library Maps: Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Mission

Assignment Planner
Citing Sources
WriteAway