LibGuides UFV: Types of Periodicals: Newspapers

Examples

Things to look for:

Short articles
Use of jargon
Current and contemporary events and opinions

Chilliwack Progress
Georgia Straight
Globe and Mail Newspaper
Canadian and international current events and news.
Vancouver Sun
New York Times
Full text of most content, from 1851 to the present (may require free registration)

Access Tools (Examples)

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
Canadian Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
CPI-Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window

Newspaper Characteristics

Current information
News stories
Local & regional focus
Analysis & opinion on current events
Speeches (excerpts, usually)
Some book reviews

Black and White Vancouver Sun Newspaper, Left side has low-quality image of scaffolding and construction workers within a partially constructed stadium. Right side has article reporting that Canadian-born children of immigrants are unable to access social services.

Screenshot taken from Vancouver Sun, 2011, Mar 03, A1. Retrieved from:

Vancouver Sun - ProQuest Digital Microfilm This link opens in a new window
Full-image digital version of the Vancouver Sun newspaper, starting in 2011 and current up to 3 months previous. All articles are fully searchable or you may browse by date.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Written for a general audience

Article titled 'Moo-toopia', low-quality image of a man standing infront of cattle within milking stalls.

Screenshot taken from Vancouver Sun, March 14, 2011, A2. Retrieved from:

Vancouver Sun - ProQuest Digital Microfilm This link opens in a new window
Full-image digital version of the Vancouver Sun newspaper, starting in 2011 and current up to 3 months previous. All articles are fully searchable or you may browse by date.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Journalists

Sources are rarely cited in full

Screenshot of news article with red box around facts asserting rates of pregnancy from the 70s to 2000s, noting that finding the source for this information may require detective work.

Screenshot taken from Vancouver Sun, June 17, 2015, B2. Retrieved from:

Vancouver Sun - ProQuest Digital Microfilm This link opens in a new window
Full-image digital version of the Vancouver Sun newspaper, starting in 2011 and current up to 3 months previous. All articles are fully searchable or you may browse by date.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Commercial/trade publishers

Pictures & charts
Some ads

Screenshot of news page, top half has multiple articles, lower half has advertisement for Annual Art Walk and a notification of the BCIT 2015 Honorary Doctor of Technology.

Screenshot from Vancouver Sun, June 17, 2015, A13. Retrieved from:

Vancouver Sun - ProQuest Digital Microfilm This link opens in a new window
Full-image digital version of the Vancouver Sun newspaper, starting in 2011 and current up to 3 months previous. All articles are fully searchable or you may browse by date.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Examples of Newspaper Articles

Yakabuski, K. (2012, Dec 31). U.S. in a fiscal cliffhanger with congress pressing for deal. The Globe and Mail
This shows the article in a format that reminds you of looking at a newspaper yourself
Sinoski, K. (2015, Nov 28). Cost overruns on evergreen line worry area mayors; tunnel boring complete, but unforeseen problems have bumped up the bill and will delay service until 2017. The Vancouver Sun
This is how most databases will display a newspaper article.

Library Links

Library Hours

refabby (at) ufv (dot) ca

Library Locations
Library Maps: Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Mission

Assignment Planner
Citing Sources
WriteAway

My Library Account
See what books you have out, renew them or place holds.
Library How-to's/FAQs
Libanswers provides you with access to various tutorials on using the library ... from the library catalogue to "Full Text Finder" and frequently asked questions.
Guide for Students at a Distance
Don't come to campus? These services are for you.

Academic Success Centre
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Writing tips, Citation Style Guides and more.
APA Style Reference Examples
Over 100 different examples of in-text and reference citations from the American Psychological Association.

The Concise APA Handbook
Call Number: Ebook
MLA Handbook
Call Number: LB 2369 G53 2016
Print 8th edition

If you think you need to talk to a librarian, there are a variety of ways to get in contact.

You can just come to the service desk in any of our locations and ask for help.
You can call or email us
But if you think you need some extended time with us (face to face or via zoom), feel free to book an appointment.

Just click on the link below, chose your location and you can choose a specific librarian or select "no preference."

LibCal Appointments Homepage