LibGuides UFV: Accounting: Financial Accounting

Financial Accounting

Scope

Financial Accounting is the handling of financial reporting pertaining to a business, including preparing documents for public use.

This guide is best used as a starting place to help you find information on these subjects. We'll connect you with a variety of information sources, including books, scholarly/research articles, news, articles, data and more.

Selected Books

Financial Accounting: Tools for Business Decision Making

This book helps students understand the purpose and use of financial accounting, whether they plan to become accountants or whether they simply need it for their personal life or career.

Advanced Quality Auditing

This book has essential information that will help guide an organization s efforts to glean more value from their audit process.

Cases in Financial Reporting

This book contains comprehensive and engaging cases on topics for accounting and related courses.

Introduction to Financial Accounting

The textbook focuses on core introductory financial accounting topics that match pre-requisite requirements for students advancing to Intermediate Financial Accounting.

Financial Accounting

An accessible introduction to the subject that will help readers to master key concepts and enhance their thinking skills in line with course requirements

Research Best Bets

Short on time? Just want to dive right in? Start here.

CPA Standards & Guidance Collection (CPACHB) This link opens in a new window
Canadian accounting and auditing standards: CICA Handbook Accounting, CICA Handbook Assurance, CICA Public Sector Accounting Handbook, Management's Discussion and Analysis and the Criteria of Control Publications.
Coverage: 1999 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It is particularly useful for finding company profiles from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on science, technology, medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities. UFV subscribes to journal content only, not books and reference works. Coverage: 1995 to present. If you see a "site can't be reached message", change browser to Firefox.

Permitted Uses for this Database

Financial Accounting Journals

The Journal of Finance 1946-present. Wiley-Blackwell. Original articles, shorter articles and book reviews on all aspects of finance.
Journal of Financial Economics 1995-present. North Holland. Research in the area of financial economics and the theory of the firm, with emphasis on capital markets, financial institutions, corporate finance, corporate governance and the economics of organizations.
The Review of Financial Studies 1988-present. Oxford University Press. Provides new research in financial economics, striving to establish a balance between theoretical & empirical studies.
Journal of Accounting Research 1963-present. Wiley-Blackwell. Articles, research reports, capsules and comments, and thematic issues, on all aspects of accounting and the proceedings of the annual Conference on Accounting Research aimed at students, academics, libraries and practitioners.
Journal of Accounting and Economics 1995-present. Elsevier. Articles which employ economic analyses of accounting problems and the application of economic theory to the explanation of accounting phenomena.
The Accounting Review 1926-present. American Accounting Association. Premier journal of articles reporting the results of accounting research and explaining and illustrating related research methodology; published for members of the American Accounting Association.
Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis 1966-present. Cambridge University Press. Theoretical and empirical research in financial economics, including corporate finance, investments, capital and security markets and quantitative methods of particular relevance to financial researchers.
Review of Finance 2004-present. Oxford University Press. Competes for the best articles in the field of finance & aims at a wide circulation & visibility in the profession.
Journal of Risk and Uncertainty 1988-present. Springer Nature. Presents information on risk & uncertainty, & how to counter these issues.

Review of Accounting Studies 1996-present. Springer Nature. Academic research in accounting including theoretical, empirical, and experimental work.

Links & Resources

IFRS Foundation
The IFRS Foundation is a not-for-profit, public interest organisation established to develop a single set of high-quality, understandable, enforceable and globally accepted accounting and sustainability disclosure standards—IFRS Standards—and to promote and facilitate adoption of the standards.
Financial Reporting and Assurance Standards Canada
Canada’s financial reporting and assurance standards boards and oversight councils
Financial Performance Data (Canada)
Financial data based on industry averages - based on 2015 data.

Accounting

Need help? Ask us!

Your Librarian

Financial Accounting

Scope

Selected Books

Financial Accounting: Tools for Business Decision Making

Advanced Quality Auditing

Cases in Financial Reporting

Introduction to Financial Accounting

Financial Accounting

Research Best Bets

Financial Accounting Journals

Links & Resources