LibGuides UFV: AGRI 142, Agribusiness Principles (Renee Prasad): Research Starting Points

Research Starting Points

When using Google Search make sure to select websites to use for information that follow the CRAAP test:

Currency: The timeliness of the information

Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs

Authority: The source of the information

Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the informational content

Purpose: The reason the information exists

Try Google Scholar for a slice of scholarly information on the Internet. Some scholarly journal content will be found that way and you will get access to fulltext as it. If links or connection to content does not work then find the title, year of publication, volume and issue and come to UFV Library and search the UFV Journals list for the title.

UFV Journals List
List of all print and electronic journals available at UFV; search for a specific journal title or browse by subject.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Indexes peer-reviewed articles, papers, theses, books, abstracts, preprints, technical reports, and other scholarly literature; subject coverage is broad. International focus.
Permitted Uses for this Database

The CRAAP Test
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose

Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
23-010-XIE Hog statistics; 23-011-XIE Sheep statistics 22-007-XIB; Cereals and oilseeds review

U.S. and International

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It is particularly useful for finding company profiles from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) This link opens in a new window
Demographic, economic and marketing statistics for over 200 countries. Information includes market performance, market size, company and brand shares and profiles of leading companies and brands.
Coverage: 1997 to present, including forecasts.
Permitted Uses for this Database
USDA National Agricultural Library This link opens in a new window
Covers agriculture and related disciplines. Some content available digitally.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Citations to the core literature of biology, agriculture and food sciences, much of it from peer-reviewed journals with an international focus; it contains some full text.
Permitted Uses for this Database
National Research Council Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 15 Canadian science journals from the NRC (National Research Council), with subject coverage in botany, zoology, biology, earth sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, physiology and more. Canadian focus.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Google News Canada

Canadian Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies provides access to full text of over 21 Canadian newspapers, including the Vancouver Sun and Globe & Mail. 2-day embargo on selected titles.
Permitted Uses for this Database
CPI-Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
Canadian-focused journals, magazines, newspapers (including local B.C. newspapers), and reference sources.
Coverage: 1980 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Financial Post
Online complement to the business section of Canada's National Post newspaper. Offers news and opinion on markets and investing, mortgages & real estate, people, technology, energy & mining, the economy, and retail & marketing.