Journal articles can be useful sources of information for almost any subject area. They contain current information or research, and are usually written on specific aspects of a topic.
Use research databases to search for articles on a specific topic. Databases can be accessed from off campus by current UFV students and employees.
Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections
When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:
| Available in Library Collection.............. | you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library |
| Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals ..... | if you need journal articles only |
| Print Books........................................ | limits mainly to our physical book, collection |
| Subject ................................................... | a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search |
| Geography............................................... | want to limit to Canada? use this |
| Limit by Database ................................ | gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database) |
|
There are a small number of databases which are not pre-indexed in the EBSCO's central index, including Canadian Business and Current Affairs, Canadian Newsstand, and CPI-Q. The database names are displayed on the right side of the screen. You may click on the database to view the additional search results. |
 |
|
Remember to use this toolbar to easily:
Email yourself the article
Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)
Permalink links to the article whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates. |
 |
System Requirements
In order to effectively use all EBSCOhost features, the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 8.0, Google Chrome 16, and Safari 5.1 (for Macintosh). You must also have Adobe ® Reader® installed to view the PDF Full Text files. If you are using Visual Search, you must also install Adobe ® Flash Player 8.0 or higher.
Custom made UFV tutorials:
Tutorials from the service provider:
Search for scholarly journal articles in all subjects,
with strength in the Humanities. Full text is available.
Coverage starts with Vol. 1, No. 1 of all titles, and
goes up to 3 to 5 years ago.
Please Note: You do not have to create an account. Just X out of the "Unlock more with JSTOR" box and you will see the search option.
UFV has access to more than 60,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles online, and about 500 current titles in print.
You can request articles from journals not held by UFV through interlibrary loan. Request forms can be accessed from the library's web site, or through the Full Text Finder link in the library's research databases. Articles generally arrive within 2-5 business days; books may take a little longer.
Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:
Short on time? Just want to dive right in? Start here.
Abstracts,indexing and full text articles from key publications in the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1984 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Spanning the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, and contains selective indexing for a substantial number of journals.
Coverage: 1954 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Provides bibliographic citations for the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum, which includes international coverage in all branches of anthropology.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Articles are available full text via our database:
More how-to videos are available on our YouTube Channel: