British & European History: Links to Primary Sources on the Internet

CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support

CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose

Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

Includes documents relating to the Nuremberg trials, to Nazi-Soviet relations (1939-41), to World War II, to English legal, constitutional and economic history, and Europe in the 18th and 19th centuries

This site provides access to a number of digital historical archives from around Britain including parliamentary records, court proceedings, transportation registers, images from the British Museum, private papers and ephemera, diocesan records, newspapers, and more. Included are both freely accessible archives and others that are available via subscription only. Material in the archives includes

Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe including Great Britain; Medieval & Renaissance Europe; Europe as a Supranational Region.

Useful guidelines for evaluating primary sources found on the web

Collection of primary sources, often in English translation, of historic documents from the early modern period to the present for both Europe and the Americas.

A collection of over 1200 photographs and images recorded during the Siege and Commune of Paris from the collection of Northwestern University Library.

(Tufts University) - primary and secondary sources, including ancient Greece and Rome, and the Renaissance.

This SFU site provides information about primary documents in history and humanities.

Overview, links, primary texts.

Overview, links, primary texts.

Documents including treaties, personal narratives and correspondence

Primary documents regarding all aspects of the war.

University of Washington Libraries site.

University of Washington's subject guide to European history, includes links to primary documents

History of medicine site.

The National Archives of the U.K. from Doomsday to the present.

Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe including Great Britain; Medieval & Renaissance Europe; Europe as a Supranational Region.

Overview, links, primary texts.