Journal articles can be useful sources of information for almost any subject area. They contain current information or research, and are usually written on specific aspects of a topic.
Use research databases to search for articles on a specific topic. Databases can be accessed from off campus by current UFV students and employees.
Search history databases from Ebsco using the search box below:
Databases being searched:
America: History and Life with Full Text
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Humanities Source
UFV has access to more than 60,000 journal, magazine, and newspaper titles online, and about 500 current titles in print.
You can request articles from journals not held by UFV through interlibrary loan. Request forms can be accessed from the library's web site, or through the Full Text Finder link in the library's research databases. Articles generally arrive within 2-5 business days; books may take a little longer.
More how-to videos are available on our YouTube Channel:
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Includes historical primary source material: manuscripts, rare documents, maps, photographs, drawings, paintings, letters, diaries, notebooks, and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 by 
Indexes to fiction in the Illustrated London News, 1842-1901, and the Graphic, 1869-1901 by Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly: