LibGuides UFV: Visual Arts and Art History: VA 372 (Jones)

Selected Books Available from the Library

Here is a selection of the types of books that are available. Use the library catalogue search box (see beside) to look for more.

Sensorium : embodied experience, technology, and contemporary art
Call Number: N 72 T4 S44 2006
Art Practice in a Digital Culture
Call Number: E-book

Subscription
Janet Cardiff: a survey of works including collaborations with George Bures Miller
Call Number: N 6549 C35 A4 2001
Photography after Photography memory and representation in the digital age
Call Number: TR 267 P56 1996

Search the Library Catalogue

Search for artists, themes and more. Example searches: Nam June Paik, David Rokeby or "self identity and art"

Examples of subjects in the library catalogue:

Arts, Modern--20th Century	Arts, Modern--21st century
Photography--digital techniques	Robotics in Art
Video Art	Performance Art
Computer Art	Digital Media
Conceptual Art	Art and technology

Searching for Journal Articles and more

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Enter your search terms and you will get results that include books, journal articles and more.

Tips:

To limit the result to journal articles only, use the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) limiter.
Turn off your pop up blocker to use the Look in ARTstor or the Full Text Finder Links. You may also have to change or update your browser. Firefox and Chrome work but IE does not

Research Databases: Best Bets

Art Full Text (EBSCOHost)
Art-related subjects, including art history, architecture, graphic arts, industrial design, motion pictures, photography, and sculpture.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR Images
ARTStor has been replaced by this on the JSTOR platform. You can still access all the same images.
For full access you may need to login to JSTOR and search for images there.
To download images, you must create personal JSTOR login. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to JSTOR is stored on servers located in the United States of America. When you use this service, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to JSTOR. Downloading by institution is not available.

Permitted Uses for this Database
Bibliography of the History of Art
Abstracts of scholarly articles and books written about the history of Western art, published between 1975 and 2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Humanities Source (EBSCOHost)
Indexing and full text of scholarly sources in the Humanities, including history, philosophy, literature and religion.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Improving Your Googling

To avoid searching through endless unreliable websites, improve your google searches from the start.

Use these as part of your search:

site:.edu (to search only U.S. universities), e.g. "Nancy Burson" site:.edu
site:.ac.uk (to search only UK Universities), e.g "New Media" site:.ac.uk
site:.moma.org (to search the Museum of Modern Art)
site:.tate.org.uk (to search the Tate Modern) e.g."new media" site:.tate.org.uk

Also include words like disseration, thesis, or pdf to bring up more reliable documents.

Try "Jenny Holzer" pdf site:.edu