LibGuides UFV: Visual Arts and Art History: Books and Videos

Video Sites

Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of over 20,000 titles in a variety of academic subject areas. Includes archival footage/newsreels on certain topics.
Permitted Uses for this Database
National Film Board (NFB) Campus This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to hundreds of English and French language animated films and documentaries online in streaming video. UFV Library has a license for classroom exhibition of these films, including both publicly accessible films, and those marked "CAMPUS."
NFB is currently blocking our OpenAthens SSO. Some films are available freely so just google NFB, find your film and watch it. If the title is a CAMPUS title, please look at our Streaming Video Collections Libguide for troubleshooting information. Still having trouble? Contact us at refabby@ufv.ca
Permitted Uses for this Database
Curio.ca This link opens in a new window
Streaming video and audio content from CBC and Radio Canada. Documentaries, news, drama, teacher's guides and more are included. Use Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Instructors wishing to create playlists should contact the library for the access code required to set up a personal account.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Smarthistory
Smarthistory is an open educational resource for art history. Smarthistory is a platform ... where art historians contribute in their areas of expertise. We offer nearly 500 videos.
Art 21
Based on the PBS Art 21 series, their website provides tv episodes, slideshows of art works, interviews, blogs, educator materials, and more.
Art Canada Institute Events
In locations across Canada, the Art Canada Institute hosts four free public lectures per year by the authors of the books they publish, in conversation with other renowned scholars and experts on Canadian art history.

Examples of subjects in the library catalogue:

Books and DVD's are shelved by call number; Visual Arts topics are generally found in the N sections:

In Chilliwack	In Abbotsford
N 1 - N 9165	N 1 - N 9165	Visual Arts (General)
NA 1 - NA 9428	NA 1 - NA 9428	Architecture
NB 1 - NB 1952	NB 1 - NB 1952	Sculpture
NC 1 - NC 1940	NC 1 - NC 1940	Drawing, Design, Illustration.
ND 25 - ND 3416	ND 25 - ND 3416	Painting
NE 1 - NE 3002	NE 1 - NE 3002	Print Media
NK 1 - NK 9955	NK 1 - NK 9955	Decorative Arts
NX 1 - NX 820	NX 1 - NX 820	Arts in general

To find and request books from other libraries, try the following:

Illume
Search libraries in B.C. Click on Request this Item button to request the item; delivery time is 5-10 business days
WorldCat
Search libraries beyond B.C. To request an item, use our interlibrary loan forms; delivery time is 1-2 weeks
Interlibrary Loans
More information on requesting materials from other libraries.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central combines over 140,000 subscription e-book titles, as well as thousands of purchased titles.Unlimited access for most titles. There is a small collection of titles that UFV has purchased, usually limited to 1 concurrent user.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Another massive repository of digitized books. Books in the public domain are available in "full view", ie. freely available cover to cover.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Freely accessible digitized books in the public domain, as well as in copyright works from major library collections.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes full-text books from important university presses and academic publishers.

Art Canada Institute Online Art Books
The Canadian Online Art Book Project is a growing digital library of books ... by the country’s leading art experts on artists who have made a critical contribution to the evolution of the nation’s art history.
Getty Research Portal
"The Getty Research Portal™ is a free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. "
MetPublications
MetPublications is a portal to the Metropolitan Museum of Art's books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals.
Current book titles that are in-print may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book. The full contents of almost all other book titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF.