Start with one or two keywords describing your topic.
Use the limiting options within the database to focus (i.e., refine) your results:
academic/peer-reviewed journals
date of publication (you might want more recent articles for some topics)
Look for subjects (aka descriptors) that can help you define your topic more narrowly.
Once you determine an angle or perspective you'd like to explore, try adding additional terms to your search.
Look for a "full text" link to view the article; if no full text link is available, try "Full Text Finder" to locate a copy of the article.
If no copy of the article is available online or in print, you can still request a copy from another library; there is no fee for this service, and articles take about 3 days (often fewer) to arrive.
Use the tools within the databases to mark, email, and print your articles:
You may be able to email the entire article to yourself, or at least the article information and abstract.
You may also be able to send yourself an MLA-formatting reference.
Articles in PDF format will have page numbers; articles in HTML format might not.
How To Videos For Finding Journal Articles
How to Find a Journal by Title at the UFV Library
Finding Your Article Using Full Text Finder
Finding Articles from a Reference List: Part 1
Finding Articles from a Reference List: Part 2
Search All EBSCO Databases
[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada. Permitted Uses for this Database
Full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE; coverage includes criminology, health sciences, business, history, sociology, and psychology. U.S. focus. Permitted Uses for this Database
Journal articles on science, technology, medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities. UFV subscribes to journal content only, not books and reference works. Coverage: 1995 to present. ScienceDirect is working normally now. If you still cannot access the database, please try an incognito or private tab, in order to avoid any cookie issues, or you can just delete your cookies. Permitted Uses for this Database
Full text for scholarly journals and books in science (biology, chemistry, physics, life sciences, geology), medicine, mathematics and statistics, business, computing science, and the humanities and social sciences. Permitted Uses for this Database
