LibGuides UFV: CYC 101, Introduction to Professional Child and Youth Care (Mark Littlefield): UN Convention on the Rights of the Child

UN Convention on the Rights of the Child

Use these websites to create the basis of your assignment.

United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child / UNICEF
Explore the UNCRC here. Make sure you dig deep into the UNCRC by reviewing all the material on this page. You will also need to select and review all the tabs on the left hand side. As you do this consider and note your thoughts on the following questions:
a. What is the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child?
b. How does the UN Convention address the needs of children?
c. What are the guiding principles that drive this human rights framework and how can they be implemented by a State party (country)?
d. What does ratifying or accession of the Convention mean for a state party?
Committee on the Rights of the Child - General Comments
Examine each of the 13 themes/subjects, chose one (e.g. The right of the child to be heard) and explore it in greater detail through the essay. As you examine the themes consider the following questions:
a. Why is this theme important to society?
b. How will this theme potentially impact the work you do or will do with children, youth and family?
c. How do you see the theme linked to the CYC field?

E-books that Might Be Helpful

The following are publications in a series called Commentary on the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child. Click on the link, login and you will be able to view the text.

Look here for more:

Rights of the Child Themes

Journals & Databases that Might Be Useful

Some journals have special issues considering the Convention on the Rights of the Child.

Here's a couple of examples:

The following databases should also give you articles that are relevant. Taylor & Francis have a lot of articles that say "Buy Now" but if you look a bit further you should be able to find enough journal articles "full access" that are available immediately to help you with your research.

Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1300 scholarly journals published by Taylor & Francis. All subjects, including social sciences, humanities, science and technology.
Coverage: 1997 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE; coverage includes criminology, health sciences, business, history, sociology, and psychology. U.S. focus.
Permitted Uses for this Database
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on science, technology, medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities. UFV subscribes to journal content only, not books and reference works. Coverage: 1995 to present. If you see a "site can't be reached message", change browser to Firefox.

Permitted Uses for this Database

CYC 101, Introduction to Professional Child and Youth Care (Mark Littlefield): UN Convention on the Rights of the Child

UN Convention on the Rights of the Child

E-books that Might Be Helpful

Journals & Databases that Might Be Useful

More UNCRC Websites