From David Taylor.
Why write an annotated bibliography?
Basically because it helps you remember what sources you have found and whether they will be useful or not.
Usually when researching a topic, you will find that during the process your ideas and your research focus will change. Items that you found initially do not prove useful in the end. If you have a list of citations with a brief description about each one, you will be able to quickly decide which items you need for your paper without having to pick up each item again, leaf through it and try to remember what it is about.
It also gives you a little practice with writing about your topic.
What do you do?
Undertake some research using the library databases, library catalogue. Try googling for information as well.
In the beginning, you will probably choose the first things you find. Look at the abstracts, blurbs, brief descriptions of the items to see whether they are relevant.
When you have a variety of different sources you will notice that the research follows certain themes. Decide which items discuss the theme you are interested in most and create an annotated bibliography.
Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections
When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:
| Available in Library Collection.............. | you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library |
| Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals ..... | if you need journal articles only |
| Print Books........................................ | limits mainly to our physical book, collection |
| Subject ................................................... | a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search |
| Geography............................................... | want to limit to Canada? use this |
| Limit by Database ................................ | gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database) |
|
There are a small number of databases which are not pre-indexed in the EBSCO's central index, including Canadian Business and Current Affairs, Canadian Newsstand, and CPI-Q. The database names are displayed on the right side of the screen. You may click on the database to view the additional search results. |
 |
|
Remember to use this toolbar to easily:
Email yourself the article
Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)
Permalink links to the article whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates. |
 |
System Requirements
In order to effectively use all EBSCOhost features, the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 8.0, Google Chrome 16, and Safari 5.1 (for Macintosh). You must also have Adobe ® Reader® installed to view the PDF Full Text files. If you are using Visual Search, you must also install Adobe ® Flash Player 8.0 or higher.
Custom made UFV tutorials:
Tutorials from the service provider:
Sample Entries
Bentz, V. J. (1987). Explorations of scope and scale: The critical determinant of high-level executive effectiveness (Rep. No. 31). Greensboro, NC: Center for Creative Leadership, 37 pages.
Bentz defines the scope and scale of the executive-level position. Scope refers to the breadth of management, that is the number of units embraced within a position. Scale refers to the internal complexity, diversity, and ambiguity of functions within and across units managed, within and across varieties of personal relations, and across decisions made. The author then divides the report into three sections: measuring scope and scale, describing research supporting the construct, and outlining the experiences necessary for coping with scope and scale.
(Example taken from : Sessa, Valerie I.; Campbell, Richard J.. Selection at the Top : An Annotated Bibliography.
Greensboro, NC, USA: Center for Creative Leadership, 1997. p 21.
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ufvca/detail.action?docID=2097883&ppg=40
Copyright © 1997. Center for Creative Leadership. All rights reserved.)
Barrick, M. R., Day, D. V., Lord, R. G., & Alexander, R. A. (1991). Assessing the utility of executive leadership. Leadership Quarterly, 2(1), 9-22.
Using utility analysis, the authors demonstrate that a high-performing executive has a substantial impact (in terms of dollars) on the economic performance of Fortune 500 companies— 15% higher than the average performing executive. The value of these performance differences is expected to exceed 25 million dollars (after taxes) for a Fortune 500 company. Additionally, the average effect sizes predicted by financial analysts are consistent with the effect sizes computed in other similar studies, suggesting consistency of impact.
(Example taken from:Sessa, Valerie I.; Campbell, Richard J.. Selection at the Top : An Annotated Bibliography.
Greensboro, NC, USA: Center for Creative Leadership, 1997. p 79.
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ufvca/detail.action?docID=2097883&ppg=98
Copyright © 1997. Center for Creative Leadership. All rights reserved.)
The UFV Academic Success Centre offers advice on academic writing. Individual help is obtained booking an appointment. In Abbotsford, the Academic Success Centre is in G126; in Chilliwack, A1204.
They also provide a variety of handouts.