LibGuides UFV: Canadian Business: Links

Associations

Advocis
The Canadian Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (CAIFA) and the Canadian Association of Financial Planners (CAFP) merged the two groups to create Advocis; includes consumer information on financial planning and planners
Small Business BC
Canadian Bankers Association
Publications on banking and financial topics, banking statistics; links to banking sites in Canada
Co-operative Development Foundation of Canada
Links to information on all types of Canadian and international co-operatives, including credit unions, regarding associations, related government websites, and educational initiatives
Canadian Marketing Associaton
Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada

Bank of Canada
Exchange rates, currency converters, bond yields, price indexes, research reports
Canadian Bankers Association
Publications on banking and financial topics, banking statistics; links to banking sites in Canada
Co-operative Development Foundation of Canada
Links to information on all types of Canadian and international co-operatives, including credit unions, regarding associations, related government websites, and educational initiatives

Canadian Trade Index
Information on over 30,000 Canadian manufacturers, distributors and service companies; can search by product
Directories of Canadian Companies
Fraser`s Canadian Trade Directory
Canpages
Canada's online source for business; search by business classification or company name

CEO Express
Mega-site for all things news and business
Globe Investor
From the Globe & Mail newspaper
Monthly Transactions of Corporations Canada
Lists new incorporations, letters of patent, name changes, insider reports, prospectuses, take-over bids, dissolutions etc. under the Canada Business Corporations Act.

B.C. Online
Fee-based access to information on land titles, property assessments, BC companies, registrations under the Personal Property Security Act (i.e. Liens and Security Agreements) and more; this is a fee-for-service site--you need a Deposit Account that you maintain with BC Online
Business Development Bank of Canada
Small business information
Business Gateway
Gateway to BC business information
Canada Business Network
Government site, includes "Info-guides" on popular business topics, such as business start-up by province and type of business
Economic Accounts (Statistics Canada)
One-stop guide to the national economy. Includes statistics, federal government information, economic concepts and events
CRA: Canada Revenue Agency
Taxation for business, business account registration, GST, corporate income tax, payroll, excise taxes
Innovation, Science and Economic Development, Canada (formerly Industry Canada)
Government of Canada's primary source for industry statistics and data, government financing for business, intellectual property, trade, and more.

Financial Performance Data by Sector
Canadian Industry Statistics (Industry Profiles)
Canadian industry profiles with economic analysis; includes a section on emerging sectors
NAICS
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Canada; also available in print in the Library's Reference section (Abb Ref HF 1044 N67 N67 2003)

Canadian Securities Institute
Fundlibrary.com
Canada's mutual fund resource centre
World Federation of Exchanges
Provides market holidays, representatives, statistics and links of stock exchanges around the world
Finance resources
From the Certified General Accountants Association of Canada.

Canadian Industrial Relations Association (CIRA)
"A network of people from across Canada and around the world interested in promoting research, discussion and education in the areas of work, labor and work, employment and industrial relations."
Employment Standards British Columbia
Labour Relations Board British Columbia
Worksafe B.C.
Workers' Compensation Board of BC

Advertising Standards Canada
Includes Canadian Code of Advertising Standards
For Consumers: Office of Consumer Affairs (OCA)
Lists of product & food recalls; alerts on the latest consumer scams and frauds, tips on how to protect yourself in various consumer situations such as shopping on-line, investing, dealing with telemarketers or door-to-door sales people, renovation contractors, car repairs and much more
Marketing News Canada
Food and Consumer Products of Canada
Includes "State of the Industry Report" on consumer packaged goods
Retail Council of Canada
Includes industry research reports

British Columbia Securities Commission
Rules and policies, annual reports, investor information

EDGAR This link opens in a new window
EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC); all securities filings for U.S. public companies, and Canadian companies trading in the U.S. Comprehensive financial information

SEDAR+ This link opens in a new window
System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval, the electronic filing system for the disclosure documents of public companies and mutual funds across Canada; up to date financial statements, annual reports, press releases. Company and mutual fund profiles

The GlobalEdge
From Michighan State University a comprehensive guide to country profiles, culture and business information.
Travel Advice and Advisories
From the department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, travel warnings and do's and don'ts while you are travelling.
Country Background Notes
From the U.S. Department of State, country profiles and background information.