LibGuides UFV: Chemistry: Introduction

Introduction

This guide has been developed as a general introduction to resources in the field of Chemistry. It is not a comprehensive listing of sources, but rather a starting point from which you can begin your research according to your information needs.

Top 5 Resources

Short on time? Just want to dive right in? Start here.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers many topics with an international focus.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Index to chemistry substances, reactions and research literature.
For access you must create an account using your UFV email. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to SciFinder from Chemical Abstracts Service is stored on servers located in the United States of America. When you use this service, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to SciFinder. You may wish to review the CAS SciFinder Privacy Policy before using the service.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text access to ACS peer-reviewed journals which include all major areas of chemistry -physical, inorganic, organic, and materials and is international in focus.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Royal Society of Chemistry publications. Coverage includes all major areas of chemistry: physical, inorganic, organic and materials.
Permitted Uses for this Database
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full text for scholarly journals and books in science (biology, chemistry, physics, life sciences, geology), medicine, mathematics and statistics, business, computing science, and the humanities and social sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Canadian Journal of Chemistry

Available online via National Research Council Journals

Nature

Recent publication from the journal Nature.

Library Quick Links

My Library Account
See what books you have out, renew them or place holds.
Library How-to's/FAQs
Libanswers provides you with access to various tutorials on using the library ... from the library catalogue to "Full Text Finder" and frequently asked questions.
Guide for Students at a Distance
Don't come to campus? These services are for you.
Assignment Planner
Tips and strategies for completing your research project on time.
UFV Library - YouTube
Check out our videos for tips on searching, accessing Library services and more!