LibGuides UFV: Chemistry: Links

Evaluating Sources

Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.

CARS Evaluation Checklist
CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support
The CRAAP Test
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources
Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

Canadian Patents Database
produced by the Canadian Intellectual Property Office. Images and patent citation from Jan 1st 1920. Abstracts and Claims are included after August 15th 1978.
World Intellectual Property Office's PCT Gazette
ncludes front page data, abstracts, and some images from 1998 to present.
INCHEM Chemical Safety Information from Intergovernmental Organizations
Searchable database. Includes names, synonyms, physical data information as well as links to International Chemical Safety Cards.
NIST Chemistry Web book
Detailed data for thousands of chemical compounds. Searchable for name, formula and CAS Registry Numbers.
Periodic Table
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 67 million structures, properties, and associated information. Can search by text or chemical structure.

Royal Society of Chemistry: Education in Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Multimedia collection of articles and videos for teachers of chemistry. Users may create a free account on the website in order to view content.
Permitted Uses for this Database