Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections
When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:
| Available in Library Collection.............. | you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library |
| Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals ..... | if you need journal articles only |
| Print Books........................................ | limits mainly to our physical book, collection |
| Subject ................................................... | a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search |
| Geography............................................... | want to limit to Canada? use this |
| Limit by Database ................................ | gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database) |
|
There are a small number of databases which are not pre-indexed in the EBSCO's central index, including Canadian Business and Current Affairs, Canadian Newsstand, and CPI-Q. The database names are displayed on the right side of the screen. You may click on the database to view the additional search results. |
 |
|
Remember to use this toolbar to easily:
Email yourself the article
Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)
Permalink links to the article whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates. |
 |
System Requirements
In order to effectively use all EBSCOhost features, the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 8.0, Google Chrome 16, and Safari 5.1 (for Macintosh). You must also have Adobe ® Reader® installed to view the PDF Full Text files. If you are using Visual Search, you must also install Adobe ® Flash Player 8.0 or higher.
Custom made UFV tutorials:
Tutorials from the service provider:
Below are select titles that look at the design of public surveys, and analyse the relationship between public policy and opinion polls. They will help you interpret the results of polls and perhaps come up with a different interpretation or analysis than what’s presented in the media.
Understanding Public Opinion Polls by Since the topic of COVID-19 immunization is quite new, it is less likely that you’ll find scholarly journal articles analysing opinion polls on vaccine acceptance for this specific virus. However, this topic has been studied in-depth for numerous other diseases, and relevant articles are available through the library’s databases. Useful search terms include:
Here is a list of databases:
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Quotation marks: Notice that both “pet therapy” and “animal visitation program” are in quotation marks. This forces the database to search for articles where the words in the given phrase appear in that exact order.
AND: When using Advanced Search, the database allows you to incorporate multiple search terms. The terms are connected by the AND operator within a drop-down menu. Using AND tells the database to only retrieve contents that incorporate all the ideas entered.
OR: Use OR between terms when there are multiple ways of expressing the same concept. You can also use OR to incorporate concepts that are different, but still within the same scope as your topic; for example, “architectural design” OR “urban design.” In the screen capture above, OR is connecting the two similar search terms: “pet therapy” and “animal visitation program.”
NOT: This tells the database to ignore (i.e. not retrieve) results that contain certain key terms often associated with similar concepts; for example, salsa NOT dancing, or “postpartum disorder” NOT depression. In the image below, NOT has been selected in the drop-down menu:
Here are some links to the major Canadian news media sources available through the UFV library, using your myUFV login. These links allow you to access articles behind paywalls, and browse online newspapers without seeing any advertisements. This is especially useful for news articles from The Globe and Mail; many are otherwise only available through paid subscriptions. You can also use Canadian Major Dailies to search for articles from major Canadian newspapers.
Below are some articles (either journalistic or scholarly) on COVID-19 vaccine acceptance. Since this is an evolving topic, it is worthwhile to pay attention to the news on a daily basis to find the latest relevant information.
