Collaboratorium, The - Community Engaged Research

Archival holdings include subject and biography files, local history books, photographs and other media, family histories, city records, oral histories, artwork, and maps. Keyword searchable digital files of the Chilliwack Progress are available from 1891-1892, 1894- April 1983, microfilm from 1891-1981, and print copies from 1980-present; print holdings of the Chilliwack Times are available from 1986 - present. The collection is searchable through an online database , as well as through scanned Finding Aids.

Archival holdings include correspondences, minute books, maps, oral history recordings, and photographs. Complete microfilm copies of the Langley Advance are available for use. There is also a resource library, including clippings files. [Expected to open late 2024.]

A collection of archival materials which illustrate the activities of Mennonite people in British Columbia, including their arrival and early settlement, the growth of communities and the development of institutions and businesses during the 20th century. Holdings include family histories, genealogical resources, yearbooks, periodicals, and church and school files.

Archival holdings include family histories, school district records, some municipal records, 100,000+ photographs, and local newspapers: Mission City News (1893) and the Fraser Valley Record (1908-present).

Website provides a brief history of the city and descriptions of permanent and temporary exhibits.

The museum includes a main building with feature gallery, TD Explore Zone, Indigenous Hall, Textile Centre and Surrey Stories Gallery.

Archival holdings related to the history of Abbotsford, including maps, microform copies of the ASM/Abbotsford News December (1922 to present), and print copies of the Abbotsford Post (1910 – 1924). A Photo Archives database of local historical images is searchable by place, year, topic, and subject.

The Project (2020-2022) is focused on implementing six projects:
Exhibit of South Asian Canadian history to be developed in partnership with the Royal BC Museum.
Research and development of resources on comprehensive South Asian Canadian Labour History in partnership with the BC Labour Heritage Centre
Province wide digitization of South Asian Canadian collections, including artefacts, photos, texts, materials, oral histories and other resources which will be accessible to all through a digital archive – creating the South Asian Canadian Digital Archive (SACDA)
Production of a public history book presenting South Asian Canadian social histories across British Columbia.
Documentation and marking of 15 sites that are of historic importance to South Asian Canadians, which have been recognized by the BC Government.
Learning resources for South Asian Canadian relevant social studies curriculum for K-12 schools in BC to be developed in partnership with Open School BC.

Located in Chilliwack, houses a collection that focuses on information about the Coast Salish, particularly the Stó:lō. The library catalog is now online.

In-person and digital access to archival records that document the history and development of Surrey.

Formerly the MSA Museum, the Trethewey House Heritage Site is operated by the Heritage Abbotsford Society. Activities include the preservation, study, and exhibition of of artifacts and archival material for the public.

A non-profit organization that manages a rich genealogical resource centre housed at the Clearbrook branch of the Fraser Valley Regional Library. Resources include cemetery records, wills indexes, and other materials in print, microform, and electronic formats. Much information is also available online.

Search Arca and discover treasures from BC's post-secondary & memory organisations. You'll find scholarly research materials and digital assets like newsletters, images, multimedia, and much more

The official archives of the British Columbia government. Archival holdings include government records, private letters and journals, books, maps, paintings, drawings, and prints, and in sound recordings and moving images pertaining to the history of British Columbia. The holdings are searchable through an online database.

The museum library contains over 11,000 titles related to the pioneer history of British Columbia, including a number of machinery manuals, pioneer lifestyle publications, and reference books.

Bibliography of all publications about the history of communities and other localities in British Columbia including locations and copies of indexes by name, title and place. Hosted by UBC.

Search a list of theses about B.C. history and related subjects. Hosted by UBC.

Website includes building histories, selected historical photographs, and other information about this municipally designated Heritage Conservation area.

Streaming video and photo galleries depicting the history of the British Columbia Electric Railway.

An overview of the history of the Kilby area. Additional information is also provided by the British Columbia Heritage website link A Visit To A BC General Store (Kilby)

MemoryBC.ca is a portal where you can access descriptions of archival materials preserved in repositories throughout the province.

Written by R.E. Gosnell (1860-1931), the first British Columbia Legislative Librarian and first Provincial Archivist, this now-digitised book provides a look at life in the province at the turn of the last century. This is the 1901 edition, which includes information back to 1897.

The MemoryBC.ca portal provides a searchable database of the materials available at nearly 200 archival repositories throughout the province of British Columbia. Some of the material is digitized and available online by following links from this site to the archival repository's own website. Other material can be accessed by visiting the archival repository during its public access hours.