The purpose of the Collaboratorium is to bring together passionate undergraduate students and communities to conduct research that contributes to building a foundation for reconciliation (broadly defined).
You may be asked to find articles for your research. These are short to medium length works
that are published in magazines, like the Economist, or journals,
like the Canadian Journal of Chemistry.
You can find them using our Research Databases noted below.
Check out these useful video tutorials on how to effectively use our research databases.
UFV faculty, staff and students registered in the current semester may access the library's electronic resources from off campus. This includes e-books and research databases.
Spanning the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, and contains selective indexing for a substantial number of journals. Coverage: 1954 to present. Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada. Permitted Uses for this Database
Need to write an argumentative essay? Look here for information that cover both sides of popular debates like global warming, cosmetic surgery, designer babies and more. Permitted Uses for this Database
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. 3 to 5 year embargo is common. Permitted Uses for this Database
Full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE; coverage includes criminology, health sciences, business, history, sociology, and psychology. U.S. focus. Permitted Uses for this Database
Journal articles on science, technology, medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities. UFV subscribes to journal content only, not books and reference works. Coverage: 1995 to present. Permitted Uses for this Database
Full text for scholarly journals and books in science (biology, chemistry, physics, life sciences, geology), medicine, mathematics and statistics, business, computing science, and the humanities and social sciences. Permitted Uses for this Database
Tips for Searching
Start with one or two keywords describing your topic.
Use the limiting options within the database to focus (i.e., refine) your results:
academic/peer-reviewed journals
date of publication (you might want more recent articles for some topics)
Look for subjects (aka descriptors) that can help you define your topic more narrowly.
Once you determine an angle or perspective you'd like to explore, try adding additional terms to your search.
Look for a "full text" link to view the article; if no full text link is available, try "Full Text Finder" to locate a copy of the article.
If no copy of the article is available online or in print, you can still request a copy from another library through Interlibrary Loan; there is no fee for this service, and articles take about 3 days (often fewer) to arrive.
Use the tools within the databases to mark, email, save, or print your articles:
You may be able to email the entire article to yourself, or at least the article information and abstract.
You may also be able to send yourself an formatted reference (for example MLA, APA).
Articles in PDF format will have page numbers; articles in HTML format will not.
