Skip to Main Content

EDUC 431: Designs for Learning General Language Arts: Home

Land Acknowledgement

Stó:lō Téméxw ~ Photo taken by Heather Compeau.

Textbook

Less Is More: teaching literature with short texts, grades 6-12 (eBook) by Kimberly Hill Campbell
ISBN: 9781571107107
Publication Date: 2007
Less Is More: teaching literature with short texts, grades 6-12 by Kimberly Hill Campbell
ISBN: 9781571107107
Publication Date: 2007

Short Story Collections

Read, Listen, Tell by Sophie McCall (Editor); Deanna Reder (Editor); David Gaertner (Editor); Gabrielle L'Hirondelle Hill (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Print copy available as well.
The Colour of Resistance by Connie Fife (Editor)
ISBN: 0920813623
Publication Date: 1994
Love Beyond Body, Space, and Time by Hope Nicholson (Editor); Richard Van Camp; Jeffrey Veregge (Artist); Nathan Adler; Gwen Benaway; Cherie Dimaline; Daniel Heath Justice; Cleo Keahna; Mari Kurisato; Darcie Little Badger; David Alexander Robertson
ISBN: 0993997074
Publication Date: 2016
Skins by Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm; Josie Douglas
Publication Date: 2000

Poetry Collections

When the Light of the World Was Subdued, Our Songs Came Through by Joy Harjo (Editor); LeAnne Howe
ISBN: 9780393356809
Publication Date: 2020
Native Poetry in Canada by Jeannette Armstrong (Editor); Lally Grauer (Editor)
ISBN: 1551112000
Publication Date: 2001
Copy in the Curriculum Collection

Non-Fiction

My conversations with Canadians by Lee Miracle
Publication Date: 2017

Websites

English with Mr. McKillop
Collection poetry suggestions from Surrey Secondary Teacher Mr. McKillop. To find the suggestions look under: "Literary Links" >> Poems by Theme>> Indigenous Experiences and Perspectives.

Some Indigenous authors are also listed in other themes on this website.

Mixed Collections

An anthology of Canadian Native literature in English 4th ed. by Daniel Moses
ISBN: 9780195443530
Publication Date: 2013
An Anthology of Indigenous Literatures in English by Armand Garnet Ruffo; Katherena Vermette; Daniel David Moses; Terry Goldie
Call Number: PS 8235 I6 A56 2020
Copy in the Curriculum Collection
Moving forward : a collection about truth and reconciliation by Melanie Brice
ISBN: 9781259649240
Publication Date: 2016
Copies in Curriculum Collection.
Strength and struggle : perspectives from First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples in Canada by Rachel Mishenene
ISBN: 97801760877415
Copies in Curriculum Collection
Voices under one sky : contemporary native literature by Trish Roman
ISBN: 0176039791
Publication Date: 1994
Dreaming in Indian by Lisa Charleyboy (Editor); Mary Beth Leatherdale (Editor)
ISBN: 9781554516865
Publication Date: 2016

Yarrow Magazine: A space to nurture Indigenous Creativity

Librarian

Heather Compeau

Subjects: Education

The University of the Fraser Valley is situated on the traditional territory of the Stó:lō peoples. The Stó:lō have an intrinsic relationship with what they refer to as S’olh Temexw (Our Sacred Land), therefore we express our gratitude and respect for the honour of living and working in this territory.

© , University of the Fraser Valley, 33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8