LibGuides UFV: ENGL 105, Academic Writing (Alois Sieben): Location Specific Resources

Overview

This page contains some ideas on potential places of interest as well as relevant links on the open web or to collections outside of UFV Library. Check out our YouTube video for tips for searching the web and an example search. If you have a place or link you think should be added to this page - let your librarian know!

Fraser Valley

Fraser Valley History Website - UFV HIST 440 Course
University of the Fraser Valley Student History Research Projects - 2011-2021
Sto:lo Library & Archives
The Library and Archives houses a collection that focuses on information about the Coast Salish, particularly the Stó:lō. There is material available about the history, both pre and post contact, culture, society, language and oral narratives. In addition to those topics, there is also material about land, and land claims, art, education, archaeology and place names.
Early history of the Fraser Valley, 1808-1885 by John Edgar Gibbard
Graduate thesis. Usage allowed for non-commercial purposes only, such as research, private study and education.
Sxwōxwiyám from Sq’éwlets
We are the Sq’éwlets People. We are Sqwōwich, People of the Sturgeon. This website shares our journey from ancient times to the present. Join us as we tell of our origins and personal histories, what we call our sxwōxwiyám and sqwélqwel. We live where the Harrison and Fraser Rivers of British Columbia meet. [From Website]

I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) This link opens in a new window
The I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal) has full text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on Indigenous peoples of Canada. Includes Browse by Community to focus on specific locations.

Abbotsford

Potential Places of Interest:

Mill Lake Trethewey House Gur Sikh Temple Sumas Lake	Downtown Abbotsford Clayburn Village Matsqui Bradner

Trethewey House Heritage Site
Formerly the MSA Museum, the Trethewey House Heritage Site is operated by the Heritage Abbotsford Society. Activities include the preservation, study, and exhibition of of artifacts and archival material for the public.
The Reach Gallery Museum (Abbotsford)
Archival holdings related to the history of Abbotsford, including maps, microform copies of the ASM/Abbotsford News December (1922 to present), and print copies of the Abbotsford Post (1910 – 1924). A Photo Archives database of local historical images is searchable by place, year, topic, and subject.
Gur Sikh Temple
"A National Historic Site, the Gur Sikh Temple has been a Sikh place of worship since 1912. Built by a community of Sikh settlers, it is known as the oldest existing Sikh Temple in North America. The restored building is managed by the not-for-profit society, The Khalsa Diwan Society, Abbotsford, whom run the daily management."
more...less...
Gur Sikh Temple, National Historic Site, and Sikh Heritage Museum (established 1911)
Heritage Abbostford Society - Online Collection
Online catalogue of photos and items held by the Heritage Abbotsford Society.
Clayburn Village - About
Some key facts and dates as well as information about the Clayburn Village Museum.
Mennonite Heritage Museum
"The mission of the Mennonite Heritage Museum is to preserve and exhibit the stories of the Mennonites from their origins in the 16th century to their settlement in the Fraser Valley." (website)

Chilliwack

Potential Places of Interest:

CFB Garrison Village Downtown Chilliwack/District 1881 Chilliwack Museum/Old City Hall Ryder Lake	Sardis Secondary School Great Blue Herron Reserve Edenbank Farm Cultus Lake Vedder River/Vedder Bridge

Chilliwack Museum & Archives
History of Chilliwack - City of Chilliwack
Brief overview of the development of the city.
Chilliwack Military Museum - Artifacts
This page contains photos of monuments, events, and other images of artifacts that the museum has.

Mission

Potential Places of Interest:

Xá:ytem/Hatzic Rock Westminister Abby Fraser River Heritage Park	Pekw'xe:yles/St. Mary’s Mission Indian Residential School Stave Falls Historic Downtown Mission

Mission Archives - Places
This link goes to the Mission Archives online database - specifically to resources related to places.
Historical Downtown Mission Website
Photos, videos, and information about local historical places in downtown Mission area (and what places exist today).
Mission City Record
Local news website.

Langley

Potential Places of Interest:

Fort Langley Historic Langley Township CNR Station	Murrayville Sendall Gardens Canadian Museum of Flight

Fort Langley Historic Site - Government of Canada
Information about the national historic site from the Canadian Government.
Langley's Historic Places Website
Interactive website with maps and information from the Township of Langley.
Langley Heritage Society
Information about the CN station, historic buildings, maps, as well as links to other relevant museums and more.

Surrey

Potential Places of Interest:

Cloverdale Bear Creek Gardens Guildford Town Centre Bell Performing Arts Centre	Tynehead Port Kells Historic Stewart Farm Peace Arch

Museum of Surrey
The museum includes a main building with feature gallery, TD Explore Zone, Indigenous Hall, Textile Centre and Surrey Stories Gallery.
Online Heritage Tools - City of Surrey
Search online collections, historical photos (timelapse feature) and maps.
Surrey Now-Leader
Local news site.