LibGuides UFV: ENGL 105, Academic Writing (Alois Sieben): UFV Library Research

Overview

Get your list of keywords, key names, places, and dates! Start here to look for books and primary sources from the UFV Library.

UFV Library Books

Use the search box below to enter keywords, phrases, titles, or names to find books at UFV Library.

Librarian Tip! Sometimes your place might be too specific to appear in a search for a book - try broadening your search to look for books about the city/community instead.

Check out our YouTube video for an example of searching for books on a local place of interest.

Highlighted UFV Library Books

Before We Lost the Lake

Before We Lost the Lake examines the lake's natural history and ecology, its occupation and use by the Sema:th and other First Nations, its colonization by White immigrants, the environmental changes brought about by introduced plants and animals, and the campaign to drain it.

Copies available at both Abbotsford and Chilliwack Libraries.

tapestry of the valley around Abbotsford

Abbotsford, A Diverse Tapestry

Includes Semá:th First Nation history, as well as settler history.

Copies available at both Abbotsford and Chilliwack Libraries.

Chilliwack's Chinatowns: A History by Chad Reimer

"In a vivid look at Chinatowns nearly lost to the past, historian Chad Reimer follows dual trails of arson in 1921 and 1934 Chilliwack to discover a slew of historical characters and stories. Chinese, Whites, and Natives intermingle before and after these unexpected fires: their lives of success, labour, leisure, and family animate Chinatown North and Chinatown South." (Amazon.ca)

Available at Abbotsford and Chilliwack Campus Libraries.

Amongst God's Own: The Enduring Legacy of St. Mary's Mission

"For over 100 years, the Oblates of Mary Immaculate operated St. Mary's Mission, a residential school near Mission, BC. Now the stories of its former students are told for the first time. In Amongst God's Own, acclaimed writer Terry Glavin has woven the accounts of 35 native elders into a bold, uncompromising narrative of life at St. Mary's." (Amazon.ca)

Copies available at Abbotsford and Chilliwack Libraries.

The Fort Langley journals, 1827-30

"These journals comprise one of the principal sources of information on early European settlement in BC and provide a remarkable and unique record of the establishment of Fort Langley. Although the journals record such day-to-day details as weather, trade, and visitors, they also contain a wealth of information about social and administrative life at the fort." (Proquest)

Available as an eBook, and print copies available in Abbotsford and Chilliwack libraries.

Excavations at Hatzic Rock, DgRn 23

"This report provides background information on heritage investigations conducted at the Hatzic Rock site, DgRn 23, in the fall of 1990 and the summer of 1991. The report focuses on work conducted under Government of British Columbia Inspection Permit No. 1991-32." taken from the provided introduction, p. 1.

Copies available in Abbotsford and Chilliwack Libraries.

Go ahead or go home : the Trethewey story

Copies available at Abbotsford and Chilliwack libraries.

Heritage Collection Items

Heritage Collection

As you look for books in the UFV Library catalogue - you may notice some items are in the "Heritage" status. UFV Library has a special collection of materials of local history in our Heritage collection. These items need to be requested to be seen at the Abbotsford Campus. For more information - visit our guide using the link.

Primary Source Databases

Below are some UFV Library databases where you may find some historical newspapers that you might use as a primary source.

Abbotsford Sumas & Matsqui News This link opens in a new window
Free online access to the Abbotsford Sumas and Matsqui News from 1922-1946. The UFV Library Heritage Collection houses print copies of the newspaper from 1922-1983.
Permitted Uses for this Database
The Abbotsford Sumas and Matsqui News documents the history of the Abbotsford and Fraser Valley area from 1922-1946. Local history events related to education, health, weather, religion, agriculture and daily life and customs are recorded. The local impact of significant events such as WWII or the Komagata Maru incident are also documented.
BC Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of 24 historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Phoenix Pioneer, date from 1865 to 1995.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window
Canada’s most popular archival collections encompassing roughly 40 million pages of primary-source documents.
Associated with other databases, Heritage and Early Canadiana Online
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies provides access to full text of over 21 Canadian newspapers, including the Vancouver Sun and Globe & Mail. 2-day embargo on selected titles.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Chilliwack Progress This link opens in a new window
The digitized version of The Chilliwack Progress newspaper from 1891 to 2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database
CPI-Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
Canadian-focused journals, magazines, newspapers (including local B.C. newspapers), and reference sources.
Coverage: 1980 to present.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Globe & Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
View the complete page image content from the Globe & Mail newspaper (including advertisements, obituaries, etc.) from 1844 to present, with a 5 year embargo.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Proquest British Columbia Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
If you are in BC or the Yukon, you can access these digitized newspapers for free: The Vancouver Sun (1912-2010), The Times Colonist (1884-2010), and The Province (1894-2010). If you see a page blocked message, just ignore and proceed to the page. For more information
Permitted Uses for this Database
South Asian Canadian Digital Archive (SACDA) This link opens in a new window
Digital collections of the South Asian diaspora of Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Check out our YouTube video for information about primary sources and how to find them for your assignment!

Search UFV's databases and library catalogue all at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

For more Library How To Videos

When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:

Available in Library Collection..............	you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library
Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals .....	if you need journal articles only
Print Books........................................	limits mainly to our physical book, collection
Subject ...................................................	a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search
Geography...............................................	want to limit to Canada? use this
Limit by Database ................................	gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database)

There are a small number of databases which are not pre-indexed in the EBSCO's central index, including Canadian Business and Current Affairs, Canadian Newsstand, and CPI-Q.

The database names are displayed on the right side of the screen. You may click on the database to view the additional search results.

Remember to use this toolbar to easily:

Email yourself the article

Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)

Permalink links to the article whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates.

By default, Find It searches all terms you have entered, without the need to use AND. For example: children television violence will find items that contain all 3 terms.
By default, Find It searches through the full text of documents (if available). This may cause a large number of results, and not all are relevant to your subject. Results are returned in a relevancy ranked order. You can change the ranking to date if you wish.
To improve the relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in "quotation marks". For example: "British Columbia" or "global warming".
Include the apostrophe. For example, use "handmaid's tale" rather than "handmaids tale"
To find variant endings for a word, use the * asterisk (truncation symbol.) For example: delinquen* finds delinquent, delinquents, delinquency
To find books, e-books. videos or other items in the UFV library, refine your search by selecting "Catalogue only". You can also limit to "Print books" if you want something to hold!
To find scholarly journal articles, refine your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)"
You can refine a search by limiting to Language. However, be aware that many English language articles have not been tagged as English, so will be missing from your search results.
Many items have direct links to retrieve the full text. For those that don't, use "Full Text Finder" to determine if UFV has the item in print or online.
To add in more Canadian content, explore the "Continue Search" on the right side of the screen.

System Requirements

In order to effectively use all EBSCOhost features, the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 8.0, Google Chrome 16, and Safari 5.1 (for Macintosh). You must also have Adobe ® Reader® installed to view the PDF Full Text files. If you are using Visual Search, you must also install Adobe ® Flash Player 8.0 or higher.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) - User Guide

Custom made UFV tutorials:

For more Library How To Videos

Tutorials from the service provider:

For More EDS tutorials