Skip to Main Content

ENGL 335, Special Topics in Victorian Literature - The Pre-Raphaelite Movement: Home

Introduction

This guide is designed to accompany ENGL 335: Special Topics in Victorian Literature - The Pre-Raphaelite Movement, as taught by Dr. Heather McAlpine, Winter 2022.

Required Texts are also available at the UFV Abbotsford Bookstore

The Complete Poems of Christina Rossetti by Christina Rossetti; Betty Flowers (Introduction by)
Call Number: PR 5237 A2 C78 2005 Abb Stacks
Collected Poetry and Prose by Dante Gabriel Rossetti; Jerome McGann (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
News from Nowhere by William Morris
Call Number: HX 811 1891 M783 Abb Stacks and E-book

Recommended Resources

The Wiley Guide to Writing Essays about Literature by Paul Headrick
Call Number: PE 1479 C7 H43 2014 Abb Stacks
Publication Date: 2013-10-07
We don't have "A Method for Writing Essays about Literature" (2010), but this is by the same author.
Oxford Dictionary of English
Call Number: E-book
Online dictionary available from Oxford Reference Online.

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Online, 9th edition of the MLA handbook with style guide and citation guidelines.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The meaning, history, and pronunciation for over half a million English words.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Source Texts for Readings

Poems and Prose by Christina Rossetti; Simon Humphries (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Another source for Christina Rossetti's poetry
Pre-Raphaelitism and the pre-Raphaelite brotherhood by W. Holman Hunt
Call Number: N 6465 P7 H86 Abb Stacks (2 vol)

Letters to the Times by Charles Dickens
A link to a search of The Times Digital Archive for the author Charles Dickens.
Letters to the Times by John Ruskin
A link to a search of The Times Digital Archive for the author John Ruskin.

Pre-Raphaelitism by John Ruskin
From the Points to the Past database
Modern Painters by John Ruskin
Call Number: ND 1135 R87 1987 Abb Stacks and E-book
Available to download from the Internet Archive

Key Websites

The Rossetti Archive
The complete writings and pictures of Dante Gabriel Rossetti.
The Germ - Files from The Rossetti Archive
The Poetry Foundation
A good source for full-text copies of poems.
The Victorian Web
A wealth of information on Victorian literature, history and culture.

JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
ARTStor has been replaced by this on the JSTOR platform. You can still access all the same images.
For full access you may need to login to JSTOR and search for images there.
To download images, you must create personal JSTOR login. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to JSTOR is stored on servers located in the United States of America. When you use this service, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to JSTOR. Downloading by institution is not available.

Permitted Uses for this Database

Guide Author

This guide was created by Patti Wilson, Liaison Librarian for English.

The University of the Fraser Valley is situated on the traditional territory of the Stó:lō peoples. The Stó:lō have an intrinsic relationship with what they refer to as S’olh Temexw (Our Sacred Land), therefore we express our gratitude and respect for the honour of living and working in this territory.

© , University of the Fraser Valley, 33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8