LibGuides UFV: HIST 236, Modern Japan: Samurai, Pearl Harbour, and Anime: Primary Sources

Licensed Primary Sources

Adam Matthew Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes historical primary source material: manuscripts, rare documents, maps, photographs, drawings, paintings, letters, diaries, notebooks, and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
This database contains a wide range of primary sources related to gender, 1450-1910, arranged into 5 themes: conduct and politeness; domesticity and the family; consumption and leisure; education and sensibility; and the body.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Facsimile editions of over 136,000 books, plays, essays, broadsides and more published in the 18th century.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents covering Colonial history, politics, culture and society, arranged into 5 themes: cultural contact, 1492-1969; literature and empire (poetry, prose, drama); the visible empire (photographs, illustrations); religion and empire; and race, class, imperialism and colonialism, c1607-2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
Nearly 200 million pages of searchable primary source materials, including maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems. It is freely available to residents living in British Columbia. Contains 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Archived websites, moving images, musics, texts, and audiofiles from the Internet or other digital sources. An excellent resource for primary sources.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Evaluating Sources

Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.

CARS Evaluation Checklist
CARS = Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support
The CRAAP Test
CRAAP = Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources
Questions to ask, and where to find the answers when evaluating sources

HIST 236, Modern Japan: Samurai, Pearl Harbour, and Anime

About Primary Sources

Need help? Ask us!

Licensed Primary Sources

Evaluating Sources