UFV Counselling appointments are available in-person, by phone, and online (Zoom).
Internet Search Tips
Using site: or domain name searching in Google Advanced Search
In Google basic search box type in: your keywords site:.gc.ca for Canadian government documents. For example: “substance abuse” site:.gc.ca or homelessness site:.gc.ca or for BC government documents, use site:.gov.bc.ca
Google Advanced Search lets you type in your keywords and add a specific website or file extension (.ca, .org, .gov, .edu) to "Search within a site or domain"
Try your search in Google Scholar to locate a certain subset of academic items on the Internet. Sometimes it brings back conference proceedings, links to articles or books. Sometimes the links to journal content do not work as they require you to pay for the full text. Check the UFV Journals List if you are looking for a specific title and follow our links to access the journal.
Also search your keywords in Google Books. Pages not accessible due to copyright? Check the UFV Library Catalogue for the title.
Indexes peer-reviewed articles, papers, theses, books, abstracts, preprints, technical reports, and other scholarly literature; subject coverage is broad. International focus. Permitted Uses for this Database
Google Books contains the digitized copies of books in the public domain and in-copyright, and is a powerful tool allowing users to search the full text content. Views of the book vary from full view to no preview available. Permitted Uses for this Database
Evaluating Sources
Although librarians have carefully compiled these sources, there is no substitute for your own evaluation. Use the following guides to help you.
CLABC members respond to over 150,000 calls annually, addressing a wide array of concerns including homelessness, mental health and substance use, poverty, abuse, and suicide.
The Ministry of Mental Health and Addictions was created in 2017 to improve the access and quality of mental health and addictions services for all British Columbians, as well as develop an immediate response to the opioid public health emergency.
British Columbia Schizophrenia Society is a non-profit organization founded in 1982 by families and friends of people with schizophrenia. Since then, BCSS has grown into a province-wide family support system. We are dedicated to supporting each other, educating the public, raising funds for research and advocating for better services for people with schizophrenia and other serious and persistent mental illness.
As a nation-wide, voluntary organization, the Canadian Mental Health Association promotes the mental health of all and supports the resilience and recovery of people experiencing mental illness.
Modeled on Canada’s Food Guide, CHC created a mental wellness guide that offers simple activities that anyone can do under nine elements of mental wellness (sleep, play, relax, reflect, connect, stay active, focus, eat well and contribute.
Services available through the centres include assessment, treatment, individual and group therapy, referrals to supportive housing, residential programs and community support services, transition of care between services, older adult programs, crisis intervention and peer support.
The Greater Good Science Center studies the psychology, sociology, and neuroscience of well-being, and teaches skills that foster a thriving, resilient, and compassionate society.
By calling 8-1-1, you can speak to a health services navigator, who can help you to find health information and services; or connect you directly with a registered nurse, a registered dietitian, a qualified exercise professional, or a pharmacist.
This site is designed to provide access to a range of online materials related to the promotion of mental health, the planning, delivery, cost and evaluation of mental health programs and services in Canada, and the mental health issues, problems and disorders encountered by Canadians.
The Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC) leads the development and dissemination of innovative programs and tools to support the mental health and wellness of Canadians.
The Mood Disorders Association of BC (MDABC) is a nonprofit organization that provides treatment, support, education, and hope of recovery for people living with a mood disorder.
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. NIMH is one of the 27 Institutes and Centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the largest biomedical research agency in the world. NIH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
Stress Strategies was developed by The Psychology Foundation of Canada and its Workplace Mental Health Committee in response to a call from professionals and parents across Canada who expressed a need for a tool aimed at helping adults better manage the stress in their lives.
