LibGuides UFV: Mental Health Awareness: Home

Any of Us Could Experience Mental Illness in our Life Time

This research guide is intended as a introduction to the topic of mental wellness and mental illness. It is not intended to be a substitute for professional advice. If you are experiencing any mental health issues, please connect with a reputable service provider.

Top Resources

Canadian Mental Health Association
With 330 community locations, CMHA is a nationwide organization that promotes mental health and supports people recovering from mental illness.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: WM 15 D53 2013 Abbotsford, Chilliwack
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR) features the most current text updates based on scientific literature with contributions from more than 200 subject matter experts.

DSM-5 TR
Access to all of the DSM library: the DSM-5, the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Clinical Cases and Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview as well as the previous editions of the DSM.
Permitted Uses for this Database
PsycARTICLES (EBSCOHost)
Full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology and related topics.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Sage Journals Online
Full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE; coverage includes criminology, health sciences, business, history, sociology, and psychology. U.S. focus.
Permitted Uses for this Database
UFV Library Catalogue
Find books, videos and more in the UFV library.

UFV Resources

Employee Assistance Program
Resources include counselling, self care starter kit, best doctors in Canada service and more.
Employee Health and Well-Being Resources
Healthy body, mind and life.
Here2Talk
Here2Talk connects students with mental health support when they need it.
UFV Student Counselling
UFV Counselling appointments are available in-person, by phone, and online (Zoom).

Events

Mental Health Week Canada
#GetReal about how to help.

Related Research Guides

Library Quick Links

My Library Account
See what books you have out, renew them or place holds.
Library How-to's/FAQs
Libanswers provides you with access to various tutorials on using the library ... from the library catalogue to "Full Text Finder" and frequently asked questions.
Guide for Students at a Distance
Don't come to campus? These services are for you.
Assignment Planner
Tips and strategies for completing your research project on time.
UFV Library - YouTube
Check out our videos for tips on searching, accessing Library services and more!