LibGuides UFV: War in Ukraine: Current Events

Maps

Screenshot of Ukraine Refugee Situation Map from Refugees Operational Data Portal taken Aug. 16, 2022 by UNHCR CC Attribution 3.0 IGO

Interactive Map: Russia's Invasion of Ukraine - Institute for the Study of War
Interactive map is updated daily.
Ukraine Refugee Situation - Operational Data Portal
Maps and data on movement of Ukrainian refugees and country border crossings since the outbreak of the conflict. Data is updated weekly on Friday by 12:00 CET.

News

When searching for current events, news sites are great places to start for the most up-to-date information. Make sure to use reputable news sources. There has been a lot of information about the War in Ukraine and not all of it has been true - check out the Disinformation & War tab for more details on how to check your facts. Remember to exercise caution on social media when news ads appear as they may lead to fake news.

BBC - War in Ukraine
The BBC has an entire section of their website dedicated to updates.
War in Ukraine - CBC News: The National
Link is to the National's YouTube playlist of videos about the war in Ukraine including military updates, disinformation, humanitarian stories, animals, etc.
The New York Times - Russia-Ukraine War
Page on the Russia-Ukraine war with sections on live updates, maps, photos, etc.
NPR - Russia-Ukraine recap
Special series with weekly updates
AP News - Russia-Ukraine War
Page dedicated to news stories related to the Russia-Ukraine War.

Videos & Media

Many scholars are using media to share information about the conflict. These are not considered scholarly sources, but they may be faster to produce and disseminate than scholarly articles.

"Did You Know? CIUS Answers: A Response to Your Questions about Russia’s War Against Ukraine."
The Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies (CIUS) is a prominent centre of Ukrainian studies outside Ukraine and an integral part of the Faculty of Arts at the University of Alberta.
State of Ukraine - NPR
With reporters on the ground, conversations with politicians and officials, and breakdowns of what's going on, we'll bring you everything you need to know about the Russian invasion of Ukraine, multiple times a day. We'll discuss the conflict's past, its possible futures, and what each new development means for the rest of the world.
Oil, Gas, and the Russia-Ukraine conflict
For a deeper look at how the Russia-Ukraine conflict is impacting energy markets globally, host Jason Bordoff speaks with two foreign policy experts on energy: Angela Stent and Meghan O’Sullivan.
Global Minds for Ukraine
After Russia's invasion of Ukraine KSE launched an intellectual diplomacy project #GlobalMinds4Ukraine. It is a series of lectures with world intellectuals to demonstrate solidarity with Ukraine.

First Hand Accounts

Bucken-Knapp, Gregg, and Joonas Sildre. (2022). Messages from Ukraine. University of Toronto Press.
This eBook from University of Toronto Press Open Monograph Collection presents "a series of graphic vignettes, Messages from Ukraine takes the words of Ukrainian migration professionals and transforms them into snapshots of how war affects the lives of everyday people" - publisher website
Chernov, M. (2022, Mar 21). 20 Days in Mariupol: The team that documented city's agony. AP News.
"Mstyslav Chernov is a video journalist for The Associated Press. This is his account of the siege of Mariupol, as documented with photographer Evgeniy Maloletka and told to correspondent Lori Hinnant."
First Hand Accounts - Euromaidan Press
"Our mission: We provide truthful, reliable, and accurate information on developments within Ukraine as well as on issues that relate to Ukraine, both as a state entity and a multi-ethnic free society, by developing and maintaining media, information, and analytical sources that are non-partisan, non-religious, non-aligned, and that counter the disinformation that is detrimental to Ukraine and to Ukrainian society."
Voices from Ukraine
We've reached out to contacts in Ukraine to offer them a platform to share their experiences and viewpoints. For their safety, we are withholding their names. We would like to thank Lucy Minicozzi-Wheeland for initiating this project and collecting the majority of the accounts, as well as Erik Puzanov, an English teacher from Odesa, Ukraine, for help with the translation of these stories.
Voices of Ukraine
A podcast from Columbia University’s Harriman Institute. Hear stories of lives upended by Russia’s war on Ukraine.

International Responses

Below are links to position statements by different governments and related reports or analyses.

Europe

EU solidarity with Ukraine
The EU response to the Russian invasion of Ukraine
"This paper provides an overview of the unprecedented set of actions the EU has taken."

North America

Asia

Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Hua Chunying’s Regular Press Conference on February 24, 2022
China and Russia’s invasion of Ukraine: Initial responses and implications
"Policy brief considering China's initial reaction to Russia's invasion of Ukraine"

Search for Academic Articles

UFV students, faculty, and staff can search the Library's databases to find academic articles, books, news, and more! Note - we encourage you to look for items in our databases because you won't be able to find this content for free on Google Scholar! Check out our notes for each database below on how to best find sources for this topic.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Try searching for "Russian invasion of Ukraine, 2022" as a subject term to find relevant articles.
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR has "Ukraine Crisis" research reports from March - June 2022 that provide brief summaries of numbers, maps, and key events.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
This database has articles related to the Russia-Ukraine war and the economy, politics, human geography, and more.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
This database has "Russia-Ukraine Conflict" as a topic area with an overview, links to news, images, viewpoints, and more. Type this phrase into the search box and click on the bold text to see the collection.

How do I choose good keywords - UofT
For more information and examples about developing keywords check out the University of Toronto's FAQ.

Websites

Ukraine - Council on Foreign Relations
Russia’s invasion of Ukraine has shaken the geopolitical foundations of Europe and triggered a reassessment of transatlantic security. CFR offers background and real-time analysis as the war unfolds.
Ukraine - OECD
As the global ramifications of the conflict begin to bite, the OECD is bringing together its latest insights, analysis and data to shed light on the policy challenges ahead.
Ukraine - UNHCR
Information on humanitarian aid in the form of news, reports, and other resources from The UN Refugee Agency.

Internet Search Tips

Using site: or domain name searching in Google Advanced Search

In Google basic search box type in: your keywords site:.gc.ca for Canadian government documents. For example: “substance abuse” site:.gc.ca or homelessness site:.gc.ca or for BC government documents, use site:.gov.bc.ca

Google Advanced Search lets you type in your keywords and add a specific website or file extension (.ca, .org, .gov, .edu) to "Search within a site or domain"

Try your search in Google Scholar to locate a certain subset of academic items on the Internet. Sometimes it brings back conference proceedings, links to articles or books. Sometimes the links to journal content do not work as they require you to pay for the full text. Check the UFV Journals List if you are looking for a specific title and follow our links to access the journal.
Also search your keywords in Google Books. Pages not accessible due to copyright? Check the UFV Library Catalogue for the title.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Indexes peer-reviewed articles, papers, theses, books, abstracts, preprints, technical reports, and other scholarly literature; subject coverage is broad. International focus.
Permitted Uses for this Database

UFV Journals List
List of all print and electronic journals available at UFV; search for a specific journal title or browse by subject.

Google Books This link opens in a new window
Google Books contains the digitized copies of books in the public domain and in-copyright, and is a powerful tool allowing users to search the full text content. Views of the book vary from full view to no preview available.
Permitted Uses for this Database
UFV Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Find books, videos and more in the UFV library.