LibGuides UFV: Evaluating Sources: Scholarly vs. Popular

What are Peer-Reviewed or Refereed Journal Articles?

Peer Review:

The process by which an academic journal passes a paper submitted for publication to independent experts for comments on its suitability and worth; refereeing.¹

Many, but not all of the scholarly journals you find through the library’s databases will be peer-reviewed. If your instructor specifies that you must reference peer-reviewed articles, double-check the articles by using Ulrichsweb. Simply enter the title of the periodical into the search box on Ulrich’s homepage. Below is an example of a refereed journal title.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Information on periodicals (magazines, journals, etc.) published throughout the world, including price, frequency of publication, publisher name, and subject coverage.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Source:

1. Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The meaning, history, and pronunciation for over half a million English words.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Types of Periodicals

Scholarly or peer-reviewed articles often have to be consulted for you to complete your assignments. The following are some characteristics of scholarly articles; refer to our guide on Types of Periodicals for more detailed explanations and example images.

Example:

This is a refereed article published in the International Journal of Athletic Therapy & Training. The author’s affiliation is clearly stated. The abstract helps readers determine the scope and relevance of the article, which ends with a list of references - allowing readers to make further investigations into the topic.

Screenshot of an article titled Performance Enhancement and Health Care Professionals' Ethical Obligation.

Trade periodicals allow professionals to stay up to date on the current trends and news/events in the field. They are often a good source for product and company information. Many trade publications also provide statistics, industry forecasts and book reviews. The following are some characteristics of trade/professional magazine articles; refer to our guide on Types of Periodicals for more detailed explanations and example images.

Example:

Below is a screen capture of a trade/professional journal article cautioning pharmacists about athletes who use dangerous levels of performance-enhancing drugs to help them attain their goals. The author assumes that readers are familiar with medical conditions such as cholestasis, cardiomyopathy and nephrotoxicity; these terms are not explained. This particular title includes a list of references. Note the social media icons on the left-hand panel and the advertising on the right. While the article offers advice to professionals, it also promotes products, including the publication itself.

Screenshot of the Pharmacy Times website publication page, a casual article using technical language discusses athletes using performance enhancing drugs, on right is an ad for a savings website..

Popular magazines can be excellent source material for information on current events. They are a primary source when it comes to popular culture, and usually feature short articles and interviews. The following are some characteristics of scholarly articles; refer to our guide on Types of Periodicals for more detailed explanations and example images.

Example:

The following is a popular magazine article written by Malcolm Gladwell that delves into the question of genetic advantage in sports. Gladwell also explores how in some cases, athletes use doping not just to enhance performance, but to prevent decline. While the article offers insight and is well-researched, this may not qualify for assignments that require you to consult peer-reviewed journals.

Cover of The New Yorker, an article titled Man and Superman is next to the image of figures on a three-tiered podium, wearing gold, silver, and bronze medals. The topmost figure wearing gold has fins, gills, and webbing on their hands and feet.

Comparison chart

	Scholarly journals	Trade/Professional magazines	Popular magazines
Example
Audience	Researchers and scholars	Professionals and practitioners in the field	General public
Authors	Researchers Experts, often affiliated with research institutions (Note: Author credentials are usually stated clearly)	Industry specialists and business representatives	Journalists and staff writers
Bibliography	Almost always	Seldom	Rarely
Structure/Language	Focused, lengthy and detailed Often includes abstract, literature review, research methodology, analysis and conclusion, and extensive bibliography Specialized vocabulary	Usually short Uses specialized language that is understood by professionals within the trade Assumes readers have basic knowledge of the field, and generally does not explain jargon	Provides overview on a topic Information is gathered from scholarly journals and repackaged in layman’s terms
Purpose	Provide original report on research Analyze research findings Facilitate communication between scholars Engage discussions about new trends in the field	Offer advice to professionals Provide information on industry news Debate viewpoints Sell products	Provide secondary report on research Entertain and inform Sell products Promote viewpoints
Review Process	Editorial board comprised of scholars in the field Often peer-reviewed	Magazine editors Possibly an editorial board	Magazine editors
Publishers	University, Institution, Association, or Society	Professional or trade organization	Commercial publishing house or other business entity
Access	Available in library, both electronically and in print Electronic access through library’s database subscription Some journals published in Open Access format and freely accessible online	Available in library, both electronically and in print Electronic access through library’s database subscription Sometimes available on the magazine’s website	Available on newsstands and by subscription Available in library, both electronically and in print Electronic access through library’s database subscription
Appearance	Plainly-designed charts and graphs pertaining to research findings Little or no advertising	Glossy, with eye-catching photos Trade/industry-specific advertising	Glossy, with eye-catching photos Large amount of commercial/political advertising

Library Links

Library Hours

refabby (at) ufv (dot) ca

Library Locations
Library Maps: Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Mission

Assignment Planner
Citing Sources
WriteAway

My Library Account
See what books you have out, renew them or place holds.
Library How-to's/FAQs
Libanswers provides you with access to various tutorials on using the library ... from the library catalogue to "Full Text Finder" and frequently asked questions.
Guide for Students at a Distance
Don't come to campus? These services are for you.

Academic Success Centre
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Writing tips, Citation Style Guides and more.
APA Style Reference Examples
Over 100 different examples of in-text and reference citations from the American Psychological Association.

The Concise APA Handbook
Call Number: Ebook
MLA Handbook
Call Number: LB 2369 G53 2016
Print 8th edition

If you think you need to talk to a librarian, there are a variety of ways to get in contact.

You can just come to the service desk in any of our locations and ask for help.
You can call or email us
But if you think you need some extended time with us (face to face or via zoom), feel free to book an appointment.

Just click on the link below, chose your location and you can choose a specific librarian or select "no preference."

LibCal Appointments Homepage