LibGuides UFV: HIST 103, Stó:lõ History: Background Information

Print Reference Titles

A Stó:Lo-Coast Salish - Historical Atlas
Call Number: G 1171 E1 S86 2001
Musqueam Reference Grammar
Call Number: PM 2381 S81 S97 2004
British Columbia : a new historical atlas
Call Number: G 1171 S1 H39 2012
Publication Date: 2012-11-13
The ... annotated Indian Act and aboriginal constitutional provisions
Call Number: KE 7704.5 2013
Aboriginal law handbook 5th edition.
Call Number: KE 7709.2 O48 2018
ISBN: 9780779886500

Using Reference Resources

Reference books provide background information on a topic, such as definitions of terms, key figures and events, and well written overviews. They can be a useful starting point for any research project, because they fill in missing knowledge about the topic or provide you with the language of the discipline.

Online Reference Collections

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Academic encyclopedias covering business, environment, history, law, medicine, religion, science, and social science. Includes an online dictionary.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Need to write an argumentative essay? Look here for information that cover both sides of popular debates like global warming, cosmetic surgery, designer babies and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online provides access to many key Oxford dictionaries and reference works across a broad subject spectrum. The database can be searched as a whole or limited to one or more subjects, or to one or more individual books.
Simultaneous Users: 5.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Primal Pictures Interactive Anatomy - Premier Library Package This link opens in a new window
Interactive 3-D animated human anatomy models and 19 Body System Modules, complete with 3-D images, clinical and case studies, text, learning objectives, and quizzes. Students: To use the Assessment (PALMS) piece of the program, you must use your UFV email address to create an account. It is best that you do NOT reuse your MyUFV password but create a new one.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of Sage handbooks and encyclopedias, providing detailed, authoritative background information in the social sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Over 1500 full text scholarly journals, encompassing life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Also includes dictionaries, handbooks and companions in the social sciences and humanities.
Coverage: 1997 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Online Reference Titles

Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity
Call Number: HV95 .E58 2014
Search for United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples
The SAGE Handbook of Identities
Call Number: BF697 .S234 2010
Go to Chapter 27: Legislating Identity: Colonialism, Land and Indigenous Legacies
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family Relations
Call Number: E-BOOK ON THE INTERNET
Go to page 190 to see information on Canada and First Nations Families
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Call Number: E184 .A1 E584 2008
Go to Page 223 to read an article on White Settler Society