LibGuides UFV: HIST 414, Tudor-Stuart Britain: Home

Introduction

This guide has been developed as a general introduction to resources in the field of Tudor-Stuart Britain. It is not a comprehensive listing of sources, but rather a starting point from which you can begin your research according to your information needs.

Kings and Queens of early modern England

Armada Portrait of Elizabeth I by Gower

Click here for a detailed biography of Elizabeth I.

Henry VII unknown artist.

Click here for a detailed biography of Henry VII.

Henry VIII by Hans Holbein, the Younger

Click here for a detailed biography of Henry VIII.

Edward VI unknown artist

Click here for a detailed biography of Edward Vi.

Lady Jane Grey by Willem de Passe

Click here for a detailed biography of Lady Jane Grey.

Mary I by Hans Eworth

Click here for a detailed biography of Mary I.

James 1 by Daniel Mytens, 1621

Click here for a detailed biography of James 1.

King Charles 1 by Sir Anthony Van Dyck, 1635

Click here for a detailed biography about King Charles I.

King Charles II Sir Godfrey Kneller, 1685by

Click here to read a detailed biography of King Charles II.

King James II by Sir Godfrey Kneller, 1684

Click here to read a detailed biography of King James II.

Queen Mary II by Sir Godfrey Kneller, 1690

Click here to read a detailed biography of Queen Mary II.

Queen Anne by Michael Dahl, 1705

Click here to read a detailed biography of Queen Anne.

Gresham College Lecture Series

Gresham College (London)
Click on the sub-categories drop down menu to find lectures on medical history, the history of science, Tudor history and more.
Gresham College was founded in 1597 and has been providing free lectures within the City of London for over 400 years.

Top 5 Resources

Short on time? Just want to dive right in? Start here.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
The history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
UFV Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Find books, videos and more in the UFV library.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Cambridge University Press journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. International focus.
Coverage: 1998 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Facsimile editions of over 136,000 books, plays, essays, broadsides and more published in the 18th century.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of influential people in British history. Simultaneous Users: 3.
Permitted Uses for this Database