Skip to Main Content

HIST 414, Tudor-Stuart Britain

Introduction

This guide has been developed as a general introduction to resources in the field of Tudor-Stuart Britain. It is not a comprehensive listing of sources, but rather a starting point from which you can begin your research according to your information needs.

Kings and Queens of early modern England

Armada Portrait of Elizabeth I by Gower

Click here for a detailed biography of Elizabeth I.

Gresham College Lecture Series

Gresham College (London)
Click on the sub-categories drop down menu to find lectures on medical history, the history of science, Tudor history and more.
Gresham College was founded in 1597 and has been providing free lectures within the City of London for over 400 years.

Top 5 Resources

Short on time? Just want to dive right in? Start here.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOHost)
The history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
UFV Library Catalogue
Find books, videos and more in the UFV library.
Cambridge Core
Full text access to Cambridge University Press journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. International focus.
Coverage: 1998 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Facsimile editions of over 136,000 books, plays, essays, broadsides and more published in the 18th century.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Biographies of influential people in British history. Simultaneous Users: 3.
Permitted Uses for this Database

The University of the Fraser Valley is situated on the traditional territory of the Stó:lō peoples. The Stó:lō have an intrinsic relationship with what they refer to as S’olh Temexw (Our Sacred Land), therefore we express our gratitude and respect for the honour of living and working in this territory.

© 2025, University of the Fraser Valley, 33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8