LibGuides UFV: HIST 414, Tudor-Stuart Britain: Primary Sources

Licensed Primary Source Databases

Early English Books Online (EEBO) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A digital facsimile edition of virtually every book published in English between 1473 - 1700.

Permitted Uses for this Database
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Facsimile editions of over 136,000 books, plays, essays, broadsides and more published in the 18th century.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Adam Matthew Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes historical primary source material: manuscripts, rare documents, maps, photographs, drawings, paintings, letters, diaries, notebooks, and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
ARTStor has been replaced by this on the JSTOR platform. You can still access all the same images.
For full access you may need to login to JSTOR and search for images there.
To download images, you must create personal JSTOR login. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to JSTOR is stored on servers located in the United States of America. When you use this service, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to JSTOR. Downloading by institution is not available.

Permitted Uses for this Database

British History Online
British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. We aim to support the learning, teaching and research of our users from around the world.

English Historical Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents on British history: political, social, economic, religious and cultural history.

Over 5,500 documents from 13 volumes including American Colonial Documents (previously out of print)
Documents selected by generations of eminent historians, and their comment provides context for each document
Sources include government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, newspaper articles, pamphlets, personal and official letters and diaries
All documents are available to print and download for use in coursework.
Coverage: 500 - 1914.
Permitted Uses for this Database
InteLex Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Full text books or collections by seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences, including: Aquinas, Aristotle, Austen, Behn, Betham, Bronte, Calvin, Darwin, Dewey, Dickens, etc., in both original languages and English translation; including their published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
Nearly 200 million pages of searchable primary source materials, including maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems. It is freely available to residents living in British Columbia. Contains 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.
Permitted Uses for this Database