The South Asian Canadian Histories Association (SACHA) was established in 2016 to bring together art, history, and research. Our aim is to create, facilitate, support, and exhibit arts and research-driven initiatives rooted in South Asian Canadian history, culture, and identity.
The Institute fosters inter-disciplinary scholarly research, community and public engagement on issues related to South Asia and the Canadian South Asian Diaspora.
The South Asian Canadian Heritage website project is dedicated to highlighting the many projects, research, and databases which have been undertaken by the South Asian Studies Institute and/or through its partnerships.
The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.
The Panjab Digital Library is a voluntary organization digitizing and preserving the cultural heritage of Panjab since 2003. With over 30 million digitized pages, it is the biggest resource of digital material on Panjab.
The South Asian Canadian Digital Archive (SACDA) is a new initiative (2017 – present) that will provide access to archival data, research, materials, sites, and information about 100+ years of South Asian community history to all Canadians.
The South Asia Materials Project (SAMP) acquires and maintains a readily accessible digital and microform collection of unique materials related to the study of South Asia.
South Asia Open Archives is a free open-access resource for research and teaching - a rich and growing curated collection of key historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region.
A site capturing and preserving first-hand accounts of first generation immigrants who share their early Canadian experience. Digitizing and providing enhanced access to culturally significant materials in all mediums.
Access to government documents, newspaper articles and a variety of other texts to tell the story of the Komagata Maru. Permitted Uses for this Database
Videos: This interview is made available under a Creative Commons license. You can download the interview and share it with others provided you acknowledge the source as the SFU Library. You cannot change or alter the interview in any way, or use it for commercial purposes.
Audio: Permission to use material from this item for purposes other than those granted in the Canadian Copyright Act must be obtained in writing from the copyright holder. Preauthorized permission is granted to educational institutions, teachers, and students to reproduce, perform, publish, exhibit, crop, reverse, translate, archive the material for noncommercial purposes. Multicultural Canada Rights and Permissions.
Images: The images have individual rights messages for each one. To use an image, you must consult the rights link on the image webpage.
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. [From Website]
Developed by the Advanced Centre for Technical Development of Punjabi Language, Literature and Culture at Punjabi University, this site offers an introduction to the Punjabi language, and teaches Punjabi alphabets, vocabulary, sentences, rhymes and stories, etc.
