LibGuides UFV: South Asian Studies: Videos

YouTube EDU

View videos from YouTube's postsecondary education channel:

A Thin Wall: Stories from the Partition of India
This is a documentary about memory, history, and the possibility of reconciliation. It focuses on the partition of India in 1947, but derives lessons that remain urgently relevant today. Shot on both sides of the border - in modern day India and Pakistan - this film is a personal take on partition, rooted in stories passed down from one generation to another. It is written and directed by Mara Ahmed and co-produced by Surbhi Dewan. Both filmmakers are descendants of families torn apart by partition. The film is also a work of art infused with original animation, music, and literary writing. [From Website]
India: From Moghuls to Independence
This program covers the history of India from the time of Genghis Khan's first extension of his domain beyond China and the subsequent history of India.
Azmaish
Traveling [India and Pakistan], Sumar and Indian actress Kalki Koechlin witness radically changing political landscapes, their encounters giving rise to a personal and poetic search to uncover the voices of the silent majority, particularly those of women

Examples of subjects in the library catalogue:

South Asian Canadians	Sikhs Canadian History
India	South Asian Emigration and Immigration
South Asian Diaspora	Komagata Maru Incident, 1914

Use broad search terms like South Asian or a particular nation like India

CAN-CORE Academic Video Collection This link opens in a new window
100% Canadian produced videos on a variety of topics covering Indigenous issues, Health, Mental Health and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Curio.ca This link opens in a new window
Streaming video and audio content from CBC and Radio Canada. Documentaries, news, drama, teacher's guides and more are included. Use Chrome or Firefox browsers.
Instructors wishing to create playlists should contact the library for the access code required to set up a personal account.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Docuseek Canadian Collection This link opens in a new window
A curated collection of streaming videos with a focus on social-issue and environmental films.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection with a mix of movie, documentary and educational titles. Starting in January 2020, Kanopy streaming videos will be available to view from Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection, Psychotherapy.net and the Documentaries subject package. All title requests outside these collections will be mediated by UFV Library staff. Mediated requests will only be accepted from UFV faculty for course purposes.
Permitted Uses for this Database
National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to hundreds of English and French language animated films and documentaries online in streaming video.
Permitted Uses for this Database