LibGuides UFV: South Asian Studies: Articles

Search UFV databases at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Top Resources

British Colonist, 1858-1980
All the issues of the British Colonist (also called The Daily British Colonist, the Daily Colonist, and other variants) from 1858 to 1980; every page is searchable.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Komagata Maru: Continuing the Journey
Access to government documents, newspaper articles and a variety of other texts to tell the story of the Komagata Maru.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Videos: This interview is made available under a Creative Commons license. You can download the interview and share it with others provided you acknowledge the source as the SFU Library. You cannot change or alter the interview in any way, or use it for commercial purposes.

Audio: Permission to use material from this item for purposes other than those granted in the Canadian Copyright Act must be obtained in writing from the copyright holder. Preauthorized permission is granted to educational institutions, teachers, and students to reproduce, perform, publish, exhibit, crop, reverse, translate, archive the material for noncommercial purposes. Multicultural Canada Rights and Permissions.

Images: The images have individual rights messages for each one. To use an image, you must consult the rights link on the image webpage.
South Asian Migration: 1906-1915 The Province (Vancouver, BC) articles
Digitized newspaper articles and their transcription related to South Asian Migration, 1906-1915, in The Province.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Empire Online
Primary source documents covering Colonial history, politics, culture and society, arranged into 5 themes: cultural contact, 1492-1969; literature and empire (poetry, prose, drama); the visible empire (photographs, illustrations); religion and empire; and race, class, imperialism and colonialism, c1607-2007.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Research Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 9000 journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Academic search complete assists researchers in the general exploration of all academic fields. Recent publications in journals, magazines and newspapers will help researchers better understand broad topic areas. Peer-reviewed academic articles help users with research papers, group assignments and keyword and subject area development.
Adam Matthew Digital Collection
Includes historical primary source material: manuscripts, rare documents, maps, photographs, drawings, paintings, letters, diaries, notebooks, and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Humanities Source (EBSCOHost)
Indexing and full text of scholarly sources in the Humanities, including history, philosophy, literature and religion.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Project Muse
Articles in the Humanities and Social Sciences. You do not have to create a personal account. Sign in by Institution: University of the Fraser Valley to the right of the landing page.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Cambridge Core
Full text access to Cambridge University Press journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. International focus.
Coverage: 1998 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database

News Sources

Abbotsford Sumas & Matsqui News
Free online access to the Abbotsford Sumas and Matsqui News from 1922-1946. The UFV Library Heritage Collection houses print copies of the newspaper from 1922-1983.
Permitted Uses for this Database
The Abbotsford Sumas and Matsqui News documents the history of the Abbotsford and Fraser Valley area from 1922-1946. Local history events related to education, health, weather, religion, agriculture and daily life and customs are recorded. The local impact of significant events such as WWII or the Komagata Maru incident are also documented.
Globe & Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844 (ProQuest)
View the complete page image content from the Globe & Mail newspaper (including advertisements, obituaries, etc.) from 1844 to present, with a 5 year embargo.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
The Times (of London). Includes every page of the newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertisements, birth and death announcements, photos and illustrations.
Permitted Uses for this Database
BC Historical Newspapers
The BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of 24 historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Phoenix Pioneer, date from 1865 to 1995.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Types of Journals

Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic or scholarly:

Scholarly Journals: reports of original research, theoretical, experimental or applied; many are refereed/peer-reviewed
Trade/Professional Journals: current trends, news & events in a particular field; some are peer-reviewed
Journals of Commentary or Opinion: commentary on political & social issues; often source of specific political viewpoint, e.g., conservative, liberal, or specific interest group
Newspapers: current information, news stories; local & regional focus
Popular Magazines: current events & news; primary source for popular culture

Types of Periodicals