LibGuides UFV: Theatre & Musical Theatre: Applied Theatre

Search UFV's databases and library catalogue all at once

Discover articles, books, videos, images, statistics, and more from the Library's print and online collections

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

When you have done your search, don’t forget to use the limiters. The main ones are:

Available in Library Collection..............	you will be able to read the articles/books online or find them in the library
Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals .....	if you need journal articles only
Print Books........................................	limits mainly to our physical book, collection
Subject ...................................................	a listing of alternative keywords that you can use to improve your search
Geography...............................................	want to limit to Canada? use this
Limit by Database ................................	gives you a list of the databases that have been searched (from here you can limit to only one database)

There are a small number of databases which are not pre-indexed in the EBSCO's central index, including Canadian Business and Current Affairs, Canadian Newsstand, and CPI-Q.

The database names are displayed on the right side of the screen. You may click on the database to view the additional search results.

Remember to use this toolbar to easily:

Email yourself the article

Cite your article (provides the citation in many different styles)

Permalink links to the article whether you are on or off campus. Use this link to email to your professor, or classmates.

By default, Find It searches all terms you have entered, without the need to use AND. For example: children television violence will find items that contain all 3 terms.
By default, Find It searches through the full text of documents (if available). This may cause a large number of results, and not all are relevant to your subject. Results are returned in a relevancy ranked order. You can change the ranking to date if you wish.
To improve the relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in "quotation marks". For example: "British Columbia" or "global warming".
Include the apostrophe. For example, use "handmaid's tale" rather than "handmaids tale"
To find variant endings for a word, use the * asterisk (truncation symbol.) For example: delinquen* finds delinquent, delinquents, delinquency
To find books, e-books. videos or other items in the UFV library, refine your search by selecting "Catalogue only". You can also limit to "Print books" if you want something to hold!
To find scholarly journal articles, refine your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)"
You can refine a search by limiting to Language. However, be aware that many English language articles have not been tagged as English, so will be missing from your search results.
Many items have direct links to retrieve the full text. For those that don't, use "Full Text Finder" to determine if UFV has the item in print or online.
To add in more Canadian content, explore the "Continue Search" on the right side of the screen.

System Requirements

In order to effectively use all EBSCOhost features, the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 8.0, Google Chrome 16, and Safari 5.1 (for Macintosh). You must also have Adobe ® Reader® installed to view the PDF Full Text files. If you are using Visual Search, you must also install Adobe ® Flash Player 8.0 or higher.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) - User Guide

Custom made UFV tutorials:

For more Library How To Videos

Tutorials from the service provider:

For More EDS tutorials

Selected Resources

In the search box above, try searching terms like:

"applied theatre"

"theatre of the oppressed"

"forum theatre"

"applied theatre aesthetics"

Introductions to Political and Applied Theatre
This series of accessible and authoritative essays and videos focuses on Political and Applied Theatre, covering history, context, theory and practice. Key introductions include related content, discussion questions and further reading to inspire research. [From Website]
Theatre of the Oppressed
This remarkable archival footage of early games and workshops run by Augusto Boal around the world shows the transformative, liberating nature of his work. Exploring three of his main methods – Invisible Theatre, Forum Theatre and Legislative Theatre – this documentary by Jeanne Dosse explains how each of these methods work in practice. [From Website]

The Routledge Companion to Theatre of the Oppressed by Kelly Howe (Editor); Julian Boal (Editor); José Soeiro (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019
This dynamic book offers a comprehensive companion to the theory and practice of Theatre of the Oppressed. Developed by Brazilian director and theorist Augusto Boal, these theatrical forms invite people to mobilize their knowledge and rehearse struggles against oppression. Featuring a diverse array of voices (many of them as yet unheard in the academic world), the book hosts dialogues on the following questions, among others: Why and how did Theatre of the Oppressed develop? What are the differences between the 1970s (when Theatre of the Oppressed began) and today? How has Theatre of the Oppressed been shaped by local and global shifts of the last 40-plus years? Why has Theatre of the Oppressed spread or "multiplied" across so many geographic, national, and cultural borders? How has Theatre of the Oppressed been shaped by globalization, "development," and neoliberalism? What are the stakes, challenges, and possibilities of Theatre of the Oppressed today? How can Theatre of the Oppressed balance practical analysis of what is with ambitious insistence on what could be? How can Theatre of the Oppressed hope, but concretely? Broad in scope yet rich in detail, The Routledge Companion to Theatre of the Oppressed contains practical and critical content relevant to artists, activists, teachers, students, and researchers. [From Publisher]
Applied theatre : international case studies and challenges for practice
Call Number: E-book
Editors Monica Prendergast and Juliana Saxton have updated the book to reflect shifts in practice over the last few years in the world of applied theatre. Drawing on their backgrounds in drama education and pedagogy, the co-editors offer introductory chapters and dozens of case studies on applied theatre projects around the globe. This new edition of Applied Theatre will encourage students and practitioners to acquire a deeper understanding of the field and its best practices. [From Publisher]
Applied Theatre: creating transformative encounters in the community
Call Number: PN 2049 T38 2003
In this book, Philip Taylor offers strategies for using theatre to raise awareness, propose alternatives, provide healing, and implement community change. As he demonstrates, applied theatre teaches us to teach others, helps communities deal with issues, and gives voice to the views of the silent and the marginal. In numerous examples, Taylor shows exactly how the theatrical art form is being harnessed to help communities question aspects of who they are and what they aspire to be. [From Publisher]

This Island's Mine: A Documentary
This inspiring short film examines ‘The Hunter Heartbeat Method’ developed by Kelly Hunter, which uses games derived from Shakespeare’s poetic exploration of the mind, eyes, reason and love to release communicative blocks within children with autism. [From Publisher]

Applied theatre and intercultural dialogue : playfully approaching difference by Elliot Leffler
Call Number: E-book
This book examines applied theatre projects that bring together diverse groups and foster intercultural dialogue. Based on five case studies and informed by play theory, it argues that the playful elements of theatre processes nurture a unique intimacy among diverse people. However, this playful quality can also dampen explicit conversations about participants' cultural differences, and defer an interrogation of people's own entrenchment in systemic power imbalances. As a result, addressing these differences and imbalances in applied theatre contexts may require particular strategies. [From Publisher]

Theatre & Musical Theatre

Need help? Ask us!

Need more help? Book an appointment with me

Search UFV's databases and library catalogue all at once

Selected Resources