LibGuides UFV: ENGL 233 / THEA 203, Performance History I (Anna Griffith): Greek

Search for books, ebooks, and videos

Tip: You may search by topic, by playwright, or by the title of a play.

Examples of searches in the library catalogue:

Greek drama
Aristotle
Sophocles
Mythology, Greek
Greek drama (tragedy)
Euripides
Aeschylus
Greek drama -- History and criticism

To find primary sources in the catalogue, combine the play's title or the playwright's last name in quotation marks with one of the following terms:

correspondence
interviews
manuscripts
pamphlets
texts

Search for Articles and More

[Note: We are working to improve access to our collections and revising our subject headings to be more respectful and inclusive. Please be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in search results or library materials which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.]

Tip: Remember to take advantages of the limiter: Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) to limit primarily to journal articles.

Example Searches:

sophocles criticism
""greek comedy" criticism"
"greek mythology" "tragedy drama"

JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
ARTStor has been replaced by this on the JSTOR platform. You can still access all the same images.
For full access you may need to login to JSTOR and search for images there.
To download images, you must create personal JSTOR login. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to JSTOR is stored on servers located in the United States of America. When you use this service, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to JSTOR. Downloading by institution is not available.

Permitted Uses for this Database
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Cambridge University Press journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. International focus.
Coverage: 1998 to current.
Permitted Uses for this Database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals and books across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Browse images to find ArtSTOR collections. 3 to 5 year embargo is common.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Articles in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Selected Titles

Aristophanes
A collection of videos and essays about Aristophanes.

Aristotle's Poetics
Call Number: E-book
A Companion to Greek Mythology
Call Number: E-book
Crisis on Stage: Tragedy and Comedy in Late Fifth-Century Athens
Call Number: E-book
A Cultural History of Theatre by Christopher B. Balme (Editor, Series edited by); Tracy C. Davis (Editor, Series edited by)
Call Number: PN 2100 C85 2017 V.1 - V. 6
A Cultural History of Theatre' presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. The set of six volumes covers a span of 2,500 years, tracing the complexity of the interactions between theatre and culture. 1. 'A Cultural History of Theatre in Antiquity' (500 BC - 1000 AD) 2. 'A Cultural History of Theatre in the Middle Ages' (1000 - 1400) 03. 'A Cultural History of Theatre in the Early Modern Age' (1400 - 1650) 4. 'A Cultural History of Theatre in the Age of Enlightenment' (1650 - 1800) 5. 'A Cultural History of Theatre in the Age of Empire' (1800 - 1920) 6. 'A Cultural History of Theatre in the Modern Age' (1920 - 2000+). [From Publisher]
The Greek Plays
Call Number: PS 3563 C58 G74 2005
Spectator Politics: metatheatre and performance in Aristophanes
Call Number: PA 3879 S58 2002

Streaming Videos

Digital Theatre + This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of live theatre performances, stagecraft, lighting and interviews along with accompanying teaching materials. Permitted Uses for this Database
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
More than 250 plays and video documentaries online. Includes interviews with directors, designers, writers and actors. Can be searched or browsed by genre, artist, time period, place and more. Focus on the twentieth century.
Coverage: 1936 to 2005.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of over 20,000 titles in a variety of academic subject areas. Includes archival footage/newsreels on certain topics.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Selected databases for primary sources

JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
ARTStor has been replaced by this on the JSTOR platform. You can still access all the same images.
For full access you may need to login to JSTOR and search for images there.
To download images, you must create personal JSTOR login. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to JSTOR is stored on servers located in the United States of America. When you use this service, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to JSTOR. Downloading by institution is not available.

Permitted Uses for this Database
Adam Matthew Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes historical primary source material: manuscripts, rare documents, maps, photographs, drawings, paintings, letters, diaries, notebooks, and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A digital facsimile edition of virtually every book published in English between 1473 - 1700.

Permitted Uses for this Database
Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
Nearly 200 million pages of searchable primary source materials, including maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems. It is freely available to residents living in British Columbia. Contains 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Writing tips

ASC Guide to Annotated Bibliographies
A guide from our Academic Success Centre to help you write your annotated bibliography.
ASC Article Review and Critique revised 2018
A guide from our Academic Success Centre to help you write your annotated bibliography
Academic Success Centre Student Resources
A variety of guides to help with understanding plagiarism, writing research papers, doing literature reviews and more.

ENGL 233 / THEA 203, Performance History I (Anna Griffith)

Need help? Ask us!

Book an Appointment with Me