LibGuides UFV: BUS 421, International Marketing: 4. Marketing Plan

Your Marketing Plan Resources

You need to look at the Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats of your proposal.

How will you make your product appealing to the people of your chosen country?
How will you ship it there?
How will you price it so that you make money but also people can afford it?
What are your competitors doing? (Could they be planning the same thing as you?)

The links and databases listed here will give you parts of the information that you need but not all. You will need to look for current affairs information in Reuters and Canadian Newsstand along with the analyses you find in Passport GMID and Business Source Complete.

What is a SWOT Analysis
Offers some useful questions to ask about your company as you and your team develop or update the SWOT analysis for your company.

Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) This link opens in a new window
Information includes market performance, market size, company and brand shares and profiles of leading companies and brands.
Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
It is particularly useful for finding company profiles/competitors from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Canadian Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies provides access to full text of over 21 Canadian newspapers, including the Vancouver Sun and Globe & Mail. 2-day embargo on selected titles.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events and business produced in Canada.

Reuters
Reuters is a well-respected provider of company intelligence that provides a great deal of information for free on the web . It's particularly useful for financial performance (including financial ratios - see valuation ratios under "Financials"), key people, and current issues about your company (including what's being reported on social media). Also offers analysts' recommendations (by consensus).
Export: How to export your products and services abroad.
A portal to information about exporting from Canada

Need help? Ask us!

Library Hours

refabby (at) ufv (dot) ca

Meet with a Librarian

Library Locations
Library Maps: Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Mission

Assignment Planner
Citing Sources
WriteAway

BUS 421, International Marketing: 4. Marketing Plan

What Do You Need to Find?

Your Marketing Plan Resources

Need help? Ask us!