Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Value of an Institutional Repository
UFV's institutional repository is HarvestIR:
An Institutional Repository (IR) collects, showcases, and preserves an academic institution’s output in digital formats, making things like institutional publications, faculty publications and research, student theses and projects, special collections, and any other related institutional products permanently available online. An IR can bring significant benefits to an institution, including:
- increase its visibility on and off campus
- facilitate community engagement with programs, research, and other projects
- increase dessemination of faculty research and publications
- assist in the recruiting of faculty, staff, and students
HarvestIR is part of Arca - a consortial institutional IR consisting of ten BC post-secondary institutions:
Other local academic IRs include cIRcle at the University of British Columbia, Summit at Simon Fraser University, and UVicSPACE at the University of Victoria.
Ranking, Quality, & Assessment
ROARMAP:Registry of Open Access Repositories Mandatory Archiving Policies
A voluntary registry listing details about institutional members' archiving policies and mandates. Includes links to home websites.
Ranking Web of Repositories
Employs ranking systems to the world's major web repositories.
Dramatic Growth of Open Access
Tracks key data for open access resources (open access journals, archives, items in archives) on a quarterly basis. This open data version (CC-BY-NC-SA) is complemented by quarterly commentary and supplemented with specialized data.
Searchable database of publishers' policies on self-archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories. Helps clarify what you can or cannot do with pre-print and/or post-print copies of articles you have published or plan to publish.
Open access collections are typically accessed via online digital repositories, which can be broadly classified into the following areas:
Academic Institutional Repositories house and showcase the scholarly output of universities, including faculty publications (journal articles, books, and other research products), theses, digitised special collections and projects, and other institutional related materials. Well-known local examples include UBC's cIRcle and SFU's Summit.
Disciplinary Repositories collect and house the publication output of specific scholarly societies, organisations, and/or disciplines. A prominent example is arXiv.org.
Government Repositories contain materials produced by governments of varying levels or institutions and organisations under financial sponsorship of governments. An example is the United State's Digital Collections of the National Library of Medicine.
Aggregrating Repositories include or combine repository holdings from multiple institutions and/or organisations.
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of open access repositories. Quality-assurance checks are conducted by project staff (real people) in order to ensure proper analysis of each listing in the directory.
Gateways & Portals
Open Science Directory
A directory of +13,000 special programs journal titles developed by EBSCO and the Hasselt University Library in Belgium.
OCLC supported union catalogue providing access to millions of digital resources collected from more than 1,100 contributors.
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
Repository directory that also provides timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world. Browse or search content by year, country, repository, and other parameters.
Digital Commons Network
Provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide, and is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Centralized search service for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world at more than 800 institutions. An advanced search filter allows searching for Creative Commons licensed content.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Find open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions.