Skip to Main Content

EDUC 421, Designs for Learning Elementary Social Studies

Primary Sources: IRS

Indigenous Heritage: Government of Canada
Residential Schools: from Library and Archives Canada
The Children Remembered
School photographs
The Story of A National Crime
In 1922 Dr. P. H. Bryce published a book about the horrors of Indian Residential Schools.
National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (University of Manitoba)
An archive of statements, documents, photographs, footage, school records, maps, plans, TRC reports, and much more.
Speaking My Truth
Download the e-book of residential School Survivors
Letter book series: Shingwauk Indian Residential School fonds
Downloadable letters from residential school children from Shingwauk Indian Residential School, Ontario. From 1876 to 1904.

Primary Sources: Newspapers

Indigenous Peoples: Government of Canada
Aboriginal Documentary Heritage
From Library and Archives Canada
The Champlain Society's Digital Collection
It includes first-hand accounts of European encounters with First Nations people.
Indigenous newspapers digitization pilot project
Includes the Turtle Island News, Windspeaker, and Ha-Shilth-Sa newspapers.

Suggested websites

Stó:lō Heritage Policy Manual
By the Stó:lō Research and Resource Management Centre
Guidelines for Respecting Cultural Knowledge by Alaska Native Knowledge Network
It has sections for Elders, Authors/Illustrators, Educators, Curriculum Developers etc.
Union of BC Indian Chiefs Digital Collections
Bill Reid Centre Collection
Télexw: Stó:lō Seasonal Rounds
Surrey School District First Peoples Website
Ray & Millie Silver Indigenous Library
The Indigenous Department has curated unique collections that can be used to support the infusion of Indigenous content and perspectives into the classroom.
Stó:lō Research and Resource Management Centre
Sq’éwlets: A Stó:lō–Coast Salish community in the Fraser River Valley
Sema:th Xo:tsa Sts’olemeqwelh Sxo:tsa (Sema:th Xo:tsa Great-Gramma’s Lake).
Video of Sema:th Xo:tsa Sts’olemeqwelh Sxo:tsa (Sema:th Xo:tsa Great-Gramma’s Lake:
Directory of First Nations in B.C.

Last Updated: Sep 3, 2025 8:14 PM
URL: https://libguides.ufv.ca/educ421
Print Page

Subjects: Course Guides, Education

The University of the Fraser Valley is situated on the traditional territory of the Stó:lō peoples. The Stó:lō have an intrinsic relationship with what they refer to as S’olh Temexw (Our Sacred Land), therefore we express our gratitude and respect for the honour of living and working in this territory.

© , University of the Fraser Valley, 33844 King Road, Abbotsford, B.C., Canada V2S 7M8