LibGuides UFV: EDUC 421, Designs for Learning Elementary Social Studies: British and European Primary Resources

About Primary Sources

Primary sources are original sources that first report on research or an idea. In other words, they are documents or records that contain firsthand reports or original data on a topic. Examples of primary sources include:

newspapers
interviews
research reports
scholarly journal articles
conference proceedings
diaries
letters
memoirs
original manuscripts
photographs
drawings
film footage
sheet music

Selected Primary Sources in the UFV Library

Milestone Documents in World History by Brian Bonhomme (Editor-In-Chief); Cathleen Boivin (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: D 5 M55 2010
The Lisle letters
Call Number: DA 335 L5 L57 1981
Josephine Butler and the Prostitution Campaigns
Call Number: HQ 125 G7 J67 2003 v.1-5
Sources of twentieth-century Europe
Call Number: D 411 S65 2000
British Family Life, 1780-1914
Call Number: HQ 613 B75 2013 V.1-5
Women in Revolutionary Paris, 1789-1795
Call Number: HQ 1616 W65
Civilization of the Italian Renaissance
Call Number: DG 445 C57 2011

Licensed Primary Sources

Adam Matthew Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes historical primary source material: manuscripts, rare documents, maps, photographs, drawings, paintings, letters, diaries, notebooks, and more.
Permitted Uses for this Database

British History Online
British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. We aim to support the learning, teaching and research of our users from around the world.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Facsimile editions of over 136,000 books, plays, essays, broadsides and more published in the 18th century.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
19th Century British Library Newspapers (Parts I and II)
19th Century UK Periodicals (Series I: New Readerships and Series II: Empire)
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2007
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2007
Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003
Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
Picture Post Historical Archive 1938-1957
Times Digital Archive 1785-1985
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2006
InteLex Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Full text books or collections by seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences, including: Aquinas, Aristotle, Austen, Behn, Betham, Bronte, Calvin, Darwin, Dewey, Dickens, etc., in both original languages and English translation; including their published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
The Times (of London). Includes every page of the newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertisements, birth and death announcements, photos and illustrations.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Quick Search Guide to the Times Digital Archive & Points to the Past
Discover some of the best ways to search and make use of the digitized newspaper collections.

Need help? Ask us!

Library Hours

refabby (at) ufv (dot) ca

Meet with a Librarian

Library Locations
Library Maps: Abbotsford, Chilliwack

Assignment Planner
Citing Sources
WriteAway