Compensation and benefits focuses on employee compensation and benefits policy-making within organizations. It includes both tangible (pay, health benefits, pensions) and intangible (recognition, work-life, and development) rewards. The term "compensation and benefits" refers both to the sub-discipline of human resource management as well as the rewards themselves.
This guide is best used as a starting place to help you find information on compensation structures, benefit and pension programs, and other employment rewards. We'll connect you with a variety of information sources, including books, scholarly/research articles, news, articles, data and more that explore the many and varied aspects of compensation and benefits.
Remuneration is never a stand-alone management process, but is rather fully integrated into other management processes, such as the performance management process, and the overall Human Resources policies.
A practical guide to understanding and implementing really effective reward strategies in your organization; uses a combination of practical tools, scenarios and case studies to cover areas including pay grades and structure, job evaluation, pay reviews, bonus plans, non-cash reward, benefits, tax issues and much more.
Introduction to the benefit plans offered to employees and the insurance policies companies use to construct their business insurance models and protect company operations.
A practical and informative book for managing the tension between talent and remuneration in organizations.
Examines the three major compensation decisions–pay level, pay structure, and pay delivery systems.
Selected papers presented at the 2013 conference on performance measurement and management control focusing on behavioral implications and human actions associated with the use of performance measurement and management control systems.
Breaks down this complex area and jargon into an understandable text that enables all HR professionals to be able to link their compensation programs with their organization's strategic objectives.
Step by step process, beginning with an assessment of the nature of the organization, its financial framework, and its workforce before examining the jobs and related compensation issues. Assumes familiarity with current compensation structures and bases.
Provides tools and techniques for designing and implementing a highly effective compensation program that will sharpen a company’s competitive edge.
A-to-Z guide to compensation strategy and design; offers authoritative solutions to a wide range of specific compensation problems, including attracting and retaining outstanding employees in a tight market; executive compensation; computers and compensation; and how to use a mix of compensation devices.
Books and other resources such as videos or reports can be a very valuable resource in the research process; they are especially useful when you are looking for:
Search Tips:
Use search words and phrases that describe more general topics or categories, rather than very specific ones. Try to discover the subject terms used within the database; here are some examples:
During the research process, we most often find ourselves looking for journal articles, as well as articles from other similar types of publications (aka "periodicals"). The value of journal and other articles lies in their specificity and their currency - they often explore the latest developments on a very small segment of a topic, and are best:
For more on the different types of periodicals and their value, see:
The following journals focus on compensation &/or benefits:
We recommend starting with Find It, a general search service that covers a wide range of disciplines and provides access to most of the resources that the library offers.
In addition to using the Find It search, the following research databases are focused on business topics or related disciplines:
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It is particularly useful for finding company profiles from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Associations and other organizations often provide news, statistics, research, and other resources related to the focus of the organization. While some resources may be limited to members only, they often make some information available openly.