Health and safety programs are aimed at ensuring workers are protected, risks are minimized, and a healthy and safe workplace is maintained. All employers must establish some form of health and safety program at the workplace. The type of program you need depends on the number of workers you have and the risks associated with their work.
This guide is best used as a starting place to help you find information for your research and assignments. We'll connect you with a variety of information sources, including books, scholarly/research articles, news, articles, data and more that explore the many and varied aspects of workplace health and safety.
Bringing together a multidisciplinary group of experts from the fields of labour studies, public health, ergonomics, epidemiology, sociology and law, Sick and tired examines the inequalities in workplace health and safety.
Offers practice guidelines for conducting workplace mental health disability evaluations.
The book goes beyond the traditional approach of focusing just on the sequence of steps and demonstrates how to integrate a risk assessment and behavioral component into the process by incorporating elements from Behavior-Related Safety and Six Sigma.
The text of this book contains brief explanations on the rules and regulations on occupational safety and health (OSH), as expressed in Occupational Safety and Health Act.
In plain English, John Ridley guides the reader through Health and Safety legislation and explains how to comply with it in practical terms.
Provides updated information on protecting workers from proven and possible health risks from manual material handling, extremes of temperature and pressure, ionizing and non-ionizing (magnetic fields) radiation, shiftwork, and more.
The book makes a compelling case for resilient and humanly sustainable businesses by focusing on improving employees' well-being.
This book integrates the growing clinical research evidence related to the emerging transdisciplinary field of occupational health and wellness.
In this book, contributing scholars, practitioners, and researchers offer their practice experience and findings related to creating workplace wellness with emphases on the intellectual, vocational, physical, social, psychological, and spiritual needs of workers and the structures and policies within their workplaces.
As work is recognized as beneficial to people's well-being, its absence is being considered in greater detail. Increasingly, work disability is being understood as a public health issue, and work disability prevention is gaining strength as an aspect of occupational health.
Here is a list of research databases that will work best. Remember that each database will give you different results so try each one.
Examples searches:
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It is particularly useful for finding company profiles from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Current issues from Safety and Health at Work
Table of Contents from Safety and Health at Work
Another way to find journal articles is to try and find the references listed in your readings. For example to find this citation:
Parry, E., & Tyson, S. (2008). An analysis of the use and success of online recruitment methods in the UK. Human Resource Management Journal, 18(3), 257–274. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1748-8583.2008.00070.x
Copy the journal title, Human Resource Management Journal and go to the UFV Journals List . Paste the journal title into the search box and see what database offers online access.
In this case, Business Source Complete. Make sure to double check the dates of coverage because the search only checks the journal title. In this case the coverage starts in 1997 so we are okay. Click on the Business Source Complete link and enter the article title "An analysis of the use and success of online recruitment methods in the UK" into the search box. You should then be able to locate the actual article.
During the research process, we most often find ourselves looking for journal articles, as well as articles from other similar types of publications (aka "periodicals"). The value of journal and other articles lies in their specificity and their currency - they often explore the latest developments on a very small segment of a topic, and are best:
For more on the different types of periodicals and their value, see:
Example searches:
Use search words and phrases that are specific, rather than general; use quotation marks to define phrases. The word "AND" is optional, but is useful for clarity. Here are several examples: