Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion refers to the efforts organizations take to create a welcoming workplace environment that is inclusive of all identities. Equity refers to the equal and fair treatment of all people. Diversity reflects the demographic mix of the community. Inclusion is the creation of an environment where everyone feels welcome.
This guide is best used as a starting place to help you find information for your research and assignments. We'll connect you with a variety of information sources, including books, scholarly/research articles, news, articles, data and more that explore the many and varied aspects of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
Birds of All Feathers is a timely call to action for employers, HR professionals, managers and employees to address diversity and inclusion--because it's not just the right thing to do, but the smart thing to do.
Rediscovering and applying our original Indigenous worldview offers a remedy that can bring forth a deeper and broader respect for diversity, and a different way to understand and honor it.
What if workforce diversity is more than simply the right thing to do in order to make society more integrated and just? What if diversity can also improve the bottom line of businesses and other organizations facing complex challenges in the knowledge economy? It can.
Equity, Diversity, and Canadian Labour explores the specific challenges put to outmoded attitudes and practices, charting the efforts made by organized labour in Canada towards addressing discrimination in the workplace and within unions themselves.
Full of concrete strategies and practical tools for implementing a successful and sustainable talent management program. The first book to provide a concrete roadmap to integrated HR and diversity strategy
This book, written by a former union officer turned academic, provides an extraordinarily detailed account of how gender inequalities became embedded in the print industry and failed to respond to formal policy efforts on the part of both employers and unions.
Diversity in the Workforce is a comprehensive, integrated teaching resource providing students with the tools and methodologies they need to negotiate effectively the multicultural workplace, and to counter issues of discrimination and privilege.
Contains a selection of 22 articles that have been published in the International Labour Review between 1996 and 2000 on many dimensions of women, gender and work.
Helping to create inclusive work environments for non-binary people, this book builds knowledge of non-binary identities and provides practical solutions to many of the basic workplace problems this group face.
Observable differences in workers doing the same job account for only 30 percent of wage variation. In Wage Dispersion, Dale Mortensen examines the reasons for pay differentials in the other 70 percent.
Search Tips:
Use search words and phrases that describe more general topics or categories, rather than very specific ones. Try to discover the subject terms used within the database; here are some examples:
During the research process, we most often find ourselves looking for journal articles, as well as articles from other similar types of publications (aka "periodicals"). The value of journal and other articles lies in their specificity and their currency - they often explore the latest developments on a very small segment of a topic, and are best:
For more on the different types of periodicals and their value, see:
Example searches:
Use search words and phrases that are specific, rather than general; use quotation marks to define phrases. The word "AND" is optional, but is useful for clarity. Here are several examples:
We recommend starting with Find It, a general search service that covers a wide range of disciplines and provides access to most of the resources that the library offers.
In addition to using the Find It search, the following research databases are focused on business topics or related disciplines:
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It is particularly useful for finding company profiles from MarketLine/Medtrack, as well as industry profiles, country reports, and market research reports.
Permitted Uses for this Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database
The following journals focus on subjects related to Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion:
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) covers current events, business, science, the arts, education, and social sciences as produced in Canada.
Permitted Uses for this Database